background

Email Students, Faculty, or Parents

Email the Bates Faculty


African American Studies

  • Hilmar Jensen III, Associate Professor of History, M.A., Ph.D., Cornell, hjensen@bates.edu

Anthropology

  • Loring Danforth, Charles A. Dana Professor of Anthropology, M.A., Ph.D., Princeton, ldanfort@bates.edu
  • Elizabeth Eames, Associate Professor of Anthropology, M.A., Ph.D., Harvard, eeames@bates.edu

Athletics

  • Kevin McHugh, Director of Athletics, B.A. Columbia University; M.A., Massachusetts, kmchugh@bates.edu

Biological Chemistry

  • Stephanie Richards, Assistant Professor and Chair, Department of Biological Chemistry, srichard@bates.edu

Biology

  • Lee Abrahamsen, Associate Professor of Biology, Ph.D., Medical College of Pennsylvania, labraham@bates.edu
  • Ryan Bavis, Associate Professor of Biology, Ph.D., Montana, rbavis@bates.edu

Chemistry

  • Jennifer Koviach-Côté, Professor and Chair, Department of Chemistry, jkoviach@bates.edu

Classical and Medieval Studies

  • Michael Jones,  Professor of History, M.A., University of Wales; Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, mjones@bates.edu
  • Margaret Imber, Associate Professor of Classical and Medieval Studies, J.D., Michigan; Ph.D., Stanford, mimber@bates.edu

Dance


Economics


Education

  • Anita Charles, Lecturer in Education and Director of Secondary Teacher Education, M.Ed., Harvard, Ph.D. In Education from University of New Hampshire, acharles@bates.edu

English


Environmental Studies Or Latin American studies

  • Sonja Pieck, Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies, M.A., Ph.D., Clark, spieck@bates.edu

French and Francophone Studies

  • Kirk Read, Professor of French and Francophone Studies, M.A., Ph.D., Princeton, kread@bates.edu

Geology

  • Beverly Johnson, Associate Professor and Chair of Geology, M.Sc., Delaware; Ph.D., Colorado, bjohnso3@bates.edu
  • Michael Retelle, Professor of Geology, M.S., Ph.D., Massachusetts, mretelle@bates.edu

German


Harward Center for Community Partnerships


History

  • Joseph Hall, Associate Professor of History and Chair, Ph.D., Wisconsin, jhall2@bates.edu
  • Michael Jones, Professor of History, M.A., University of Wales; Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, mjones@bates.edu

Mathematics & Statistics Workshop

  • Grace Coulombe, Lecturer in Quantitative Studies and Director of the Mathematics and Statistics Workshop, M.A., Boston College, gcoulomb@bates.edu

Music

  • Gina Fatone, Associate Professor of Music, M.M., New England Conservatory of Music; M.A., University of California, Santa Cruz; Ph.D., UCLA, gfatone@bates.edu

Neuroscience

  • Nancy Kleckner, Associate Professor of Biology Chair of Neuroscience Department, Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, nkleckne@bates.edu

Physics


Politics

  • John Baughman, Associate Professor of Politics, M.A., Ph.D., Chicago, jbaughma@bates.edu

Psychology

  • Helen Boucher, Associate Professor of Psychology, M.A., Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, hboucher@bates.edu

Rhetoric

  • Stephanie Kelley-Romano, Associate Professor of Rhetoric, M.A., Emerson; Ph.D., Kansas, skelley@bates.edu

Russian

  • Dennis Browne, Associate Professor of Russian, M.A., Ph.D., Virginia, dbrowne@bates.edu

Spanish

  • Baltasar Fra-Molinero, Associate Professor of Spanish, M.A., Indiana; Doctor en Filología, Universidad de Sevilla; Ph.D., Indiana, bframoli@bates.edu

Theater

  • Michael Reidy, Lecturer, Managing Director, Chair, Department of Theater and Dance, M.F.A., California Institute of the Arts, mreidy@bates.edu

Women and Gender Studies

  • Rebecca Herzig, Professor of  Women and Gender Studies, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, rherzig@bates.edu

Email a Bates Student

Have questions you’d like answered by a real Bates student?

These students have volunteered to answer your questions. Email them anytime, but understand that during vacations, Short Term and the summer, they may not check their email as frequently.


Eduardo Sebastian Borromeo Martinez-Miranda (Seba) ’15
emartine@bates.edu

Makati City, Metro Manila, Philippines
Areas of Study: Economics and Music
Other Interests: baseball, DJ Society, photography, Bollywood dance


Emily Clark ’15
eclark@bates.edu

Readfield, Maine
Areas of study: Physics
Other interests: fencing, the Environmental Coalition, the Bates Democrats


Akachukwu Obi ’15
aobi@bates.edu

Umunze, Anambra state, Nigeria
Areas of study: Chemistry, Math, Russian
Other interests: soccer, Africana Club, Bates Christian Fellowship, FIFA


Grace Pezzella ’15
gpezzell@bates.edu

Newburyport, Mass.
Areas of study: Potential History/Rhetoric major with a GEC in Film and Media Studies
Other interests: outdoors and the Outing Club, Bates Yoga Kula

Contact a Bates Parent

You are proud of your kid, and you should be! Sending her or him to Bates for four years? Naturally, you have a few questions. Let us help you answer them, parent to parent. We’ve been there, we know how you feel.


Kate Grant (parent of Charlie ’14)
Portland, Ore.
grantk@catlin.edu


Bill Jordan (parent of Daniel ’14)
Washington, D.C.
dcjordanfive@yahoo.com


Rajan Krishnaswami (parent of Olivia ’15)
Seattle, Wash.
rajankrishnaswami@gmail.com


Tom Leonard ’78 (parent of Alison ’10 and Tom ’14)
North Granby, Conn.
run26leon@cox.net


Benita Norrmén-Smith (parent of Olivia ’13)
Upper Montclair, N.J.
norrmensmith@verizon.net


Peter and Kathy Skaperdas (parents of Alexandra ’15)
New Canaan, Conn.
kauda2@aol.com

  • Contact Us