Division, Program, & Department Chairs

AY2016-2017

DIVISION CHAIRS:

Humanities Lillian Nayder – lnayder@bates.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies Rebecca Herzig – rherzig@bates.edu 
Natural Sciences Meredith Greer – mgreer@bates.edu
Social Sciences James Richter – jrichter@bates.edu

PROGRAM CHAIRS:

African American Studies Baltasar Fra-Molinero – bframoli@bates.edu
American Cultural Studies Dale Chapman – dchapman@bates.edu
Asian Studies Trian Nguyen – tnguyen@bates.edu
Classical & Medieval Studies Rebecca Corrie – rcorrie@bates.edu
Digital and Computational Studies Paula Schlax –    pschlax@bates.edu
Environmental Studies Jane Costlow – jcostlow@bates.edu
European Studies Dennis Browne – dbrowne@bates.edu
Latin American Studies Sonja Pieck –         spieck@bates.edu
Neuroscience Nancy Koven –   nkoven@bates.edu
Women & Gender Studies Rebecca Herzig – rherzig@bates.edu

DEPARTMENT CHAIRS:

Anthropology Loring Danforth – ldanfort@bates.edu
Art and Visual Culture Ned Harwood – eharwood@bates.edu
Biology Ryan Bavis – rbavis@bates.edu
Chemistry T. Glen Lawson – tlawson@bates.edu
Economics Daniel Riera-Crichton – drieracr@bates.edu
Education Patty Buck – pbuck@bates.edu

Anita Charles – acharles@bates.edu

Bronwyn Sale – bsale@bates.edu

Mara Tieken – mtieken@bates.edu

English Sanford Freedman – sfreedma@bates.edu (Fall 2016)

Eden Osucha – eosucha@bates.edu (Winter 2017)

French and Francophone Studies Alexandre Dauge-Roth – adaugero@bates.edu
Geology Michael Retelle – mretelle@bates.edu
German & Russian Studies Craig Decker – cdecker@bates.edu
History Karen Melvin – kmelvin@bates.edu
Mathematics Pallavi Jayawant – pjayawa@bates.edu
Music Hiroya Miura – hmiura@bates.edu
Philosophy David Cummiskey – dcummisk@bates.edu
Physics & Astronomy Hong Lin – hlin@bates.edu
Politics Stephen Engel – sengel@bates.edu
Psychology Amy Douglass – adouglas@bates.edu

Kathy Mathis – kmathis@bates.edu

Religious Studies Cynthia Baker – cbaker@bates.edu
Rhetoric Charles Nero – cnero@bates.edu (Fall)

Stephanie Kelley-Romano – skelley@bates.edu (Winter)

Sociology Emily Kane – ekane@bates.edu
Spanish David George – dgeorge@bates.edu
Theater & Dance Michael Reidy – mreidy@bates.edu