Division, Program, & Department Chairs

AY2017-2018

DIVISION CHAIRS:

Humanities (H) Lillian Nayder – lnayder@bates.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies (I) Nancy Koven – nkoven@bates.edu 
Natural Sciences (N) Matthew Côté – mcote@bates.edu
Social Sciences (S) James Richter – jrichter@bates.edu

PROGRAM CHAIRS:

African American Studies (I)

Therí Pickens aas-chair@bates.edu

American Cultural Studies (I) Dale Chapman – dchapman@bates.edu
Asian Studies (I) Brian Ruppert – bruppert@bates.edu
Classical & Medieval Studies (I) Dolores O’Higgins – dohiggin@bates.edu
Digital and Computational Studies (I) Matthew Jadud – mjadud@bates.edu
Environmental Studies (I) Jane Costlow – jcostlow@bates.edu
European Studies (I) Dennis Browne – dbrowne@bates.edu
Latin American Studies (I) Baltasar Fra-Molinero – bframoli@bates.edu
Neuroscience (I/N) Nancy Koven –   nkoven@bates.edu
Gender and Sexuality Studies (I/N) Erica Rand –   erand@bates.edu

DEPARTMENT CHAIRS:

Anthropology (S) Steven Kemper skemper@bates.edu
Art and Visual Culture (H) Ned Harwood eharwood@bates.edu
Biology (N) Ryan Bavis rbavis@bates.edu
Chemistry (N) Jen Koviach Côté  (Fall)

T. Glen Lawson (Winter)

 

jkoviach@bates.edu

tlawson@bates.edu

Economics (S) Nathan Tefft

Lynne Lewis (Assoc. Chair)

ntefft@bates.edu

llewis@bates.edu

Education (S) Patty Buck

Anita Charles

Bronwyn Sale

Mara Tieken

pbuck@bates.edu

acharles@bates.edu

bsale@bates.edu

mtieken@bates.edu

 

English (H) Sanford Freedman sfreedma@bates.edu
French and Francophone Studies (H) Alexandre Dauge-Roth adaugero@bates.edu
Geology (N) Dyk Eusden deusden@bates.edu
German & Russian Studies (H) Craig Decker cdecker@bates.edu
History (S) Margaret Creighton (Fall)

Hilmar Jensen (Winter)

mcreight@bates.edu

hjensen@bates.edu

Mathematics (N) Peter Wong pwong@bates.edu
Music (H) Hiroya Miura hmiura@bates.edu
Philosophy (H) David Cummiskey dcummisk@bates.edu
Physics & Astronomy (N) Hong Lin hlin@bates.edu
Politics (S) Stephen Engel sengel@bates.edu
Psychology (S) Amy Douglass

Rebecca Fraser-Thill (Assoc. Chair)

adouglas@bates.edu

rfrasert@bates.edu

Religious Studies (H) Cynthia Baker cbaker@bates.edu
Rhetoric (H) Stephanie Kelley-Romano
skelley@bates.edu
Sociology (S) Emily Kane ekane@bates.edu
Spanish (H) Claudia Aburto Guzman  caburtog@bates.edu
Theater & Dance (H) Michael Reidy mreidy@bates.edu