Division, Program, & Department Chairs

AY 2018-2019

DIVISION CHAIRS:

Humanities (H) Lillian Nayder – lnayder@bates.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies (I) Nancy Koven – nkoven@bates.edu 
Natural Sciences (N) Matthew Côté – mcote@bates.edu
Social Sciences (S) Amy Douglass – adouglas@bates.edu

PROGRAM CHAIRS:

African American Studies (I) Theri Pickens tpickens@bates.edu/aas-chair@bates.edu
American Studies (I) Myron Beasley mbeasley@bates.edu
Asian Studies (I) Brian Ruppert bruppert@bates.edu
Classical & Medieval Studies (I) Dolores O’Higgins dohiggin@bates.edu
Digital and Computational Studies (I) Matthew Jadud mjadud@bates.edu
Environmental Studies (I) Sonja Pieck spieck@bates.edu
European Studies (I) Jim Richter jrichter@bates.edu
Gender and Sexuality Studies (I/N) Rebecca Herzig  rherzig@bates.edu
Latin American Studies (I) Baltasar Fra-Molinero bframoli@bates.edu
Neuroscience (I/N) Nancy Koven nkoven@bates.edu

DEPARTMENT CHAIRS:

Anthropology (S) Loring Danforth ldanfort@bates.edu
Art and Visual Culture (H) Ned Harwood eharwood@bates.edu
Biology (N) Ryan Bavis rbavis@bates.edu
Chemistry and Biochemistry (N) Paula Schlax  (Fall)

T. Glen Lawson (Winter)

 

pschlax@bates.edu

tlawson@bates.edu

Economics (S) Nathan Tefft

Paul Shea (Assoc. Chair)

ntefft@bates.edu

pshea@bates.edu

Education (S) Patty Buck

Anita Charles

Bronwyn Sale

 

pbuck@bates.edu

acharles@bates.edu

bsale@bates.edu

 

English (H) Sanford Freedman sfreedma@bates.edu
French and Francophone Studies (H) Alexandre Dauge-Roth adaugero@bates.edu
Geology (N) Dyk Eusden

Bev Johnson (Assoc. Chair)

deusden@bates.edu

bjohnso3@bates.edu

German & Russian Studies (H) Dennis Browne dbrowne@bates.edu
History (S) Margaret Creighton (Fall)

Joe Hall (Winter)

mcreight@bates.edu

jhall2@bates.edu

Mathematics (N) Adriana Salerno asalerno@bates.edu
Music (H) Hiroya Miura hmiura@bates.edu
Philosophy (H) Susan Stark sstark@bates.edu
Physics & Astronomy (N) Nathan Lundblad nlundbla@bates.edu
Politics (S) Stephen Engel sengel@bates.edu
Psychology (S) Helen Boucher hboucher@bates.edu
Religious Studies (H) Ali  Akhtar aakhtar@bates.edu
Rhetoric (H) Stephanie Kelley-Romano
skelley@bates.edu
Sociology (S) Emily Kane ekane@bates.edu
Spanish (H) David George  dgeorge@bates.edu
Theater & Dance (H) Carol Dilley

Michael Reidy (Assoc. Chair)

Julie Fox          (Assoc. Chair)

cdilley@bates.edu

mreidy@bates.edu

jfox3@bates.edu