Division, Program, & Department Chairs

AY2015-2016

DIVISION CHAIRS:

Humanities Thomas Tracy – ttracy@bates.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies Rebecca Herzig – rherzig@bates.edu 
Natural Sciences Matthew Côté – mcote@bates.edu
Social Sciences James Richter - jrichter@bates.edu

PROGRAM CHAIRS:

African American Studies Sue Houchins – shouchin@bates.edu
American Cultural Studies Dale Chapman – dchapman@bates.edu
Asian Studies Steven Kemper – skemper@bates.edu
Biological Chemistry Paula Schlax – pschlax@bates.edu
Classical & Medieval Studies Rebecca Corrie – rcorrie@bates.edu
Digital and Computational Studies Lauren Ashwell – lashwell@bates.edu
Environmental Studies Holly Ewing – hewing@bates.edu
European Studies Dennis Browne – dbrowne@bates.edu
Latin American Studies Baltasar Fra-Molinero – bframoli@bates.edu
Neuroscience Nancy Koven – nkoven@bates.edu
Women & Gender Studies Rebecca Herzig – rherzig@bates.edu

DEPARTMENT CHAIRS:

Anthropology Loring Danforth – ldanfort@bates.edu
Art and Visual Culture Ned Harwood – eharwood@bates.edu
Biology Ryan Bavis – rbavis@bates.edu
Chemistry T. Glen Lawson – tlawson@bates.edu
Economics James Hughes – jhughes@bates.edu
Education Anita Charles (Fall) – acharles@bates.edu
Mara Tieken (Associate Chair, Fall) – mtieken@bates.edu
English Sanford Freedman – sfreedma@bates.edu
French and Francophone Studies Alexandre Dauge-Roth – adaugero@bates.edu
Geology Michael Retelle – mretelle@bates.edu
German & Russian Studies Craig Decker – cdecker@bates.edu
History Karen Melvin – kmelvin@bates.edu
Mathematics Pallavi Jayawant – pjayawa@bates.edu
Music Gina Fatone – gfatone@bates.edu
Philosophy David Cummiskey – dcummisk@bates.edu
Physics & Astronomy Hong Lin – hlin@bates.edu
Politics Stephen Engel – sengel@bates.edu
Psychology Todd Kahan – tkahan@bates.edu
Religious Studies Cynthia Baker – cbaker@bates.edu
Rhetoric Stephanie Kelley-Romano (Fall) – skelley@bates.edu
Charles Nero (Winter) – cnero@bates.edu
Sociology Francesco Duina – fduina@bates.edu
Spanish David George – dgeorge@bates.edu
Theater & Dance Carol Dilley – cdilley@bates.edu