Division, Program, & Department Chairs

AY2016-2017

DIVISION CHAIRS:

Humanities (H) Lillian Nayder – lnayder@bates.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies (I) Rebecca Herzig – rherzig@bates.edu 
Natural Sciences (N) Meredith Greer – mgreer@bates.edu
Social Sciences (S) James Richter – jrichter@bates.edu

PROGRAM CHAIRS:

African American Studies (I) Baltasar Fra-Molinero – bframoli@bates.edu
American Cultural Studies (I) Dale Chapman – dchapman@bates.edu
Asian Studies (I) Trian Nguyen – tnguyen@bates.edu
Classical & Medieval Studies (I) Rebecca Corrie – rcorrie@bates.edu
Digital and Computational Studies (I) Paula Schlax –    pschlax@bates.edu
Environmental Studies (I) Jane Costlow – jcostlow@bates.edu
European Studies (I) Dennis Browne – dbrowne@bates.edu
Latin American Studies (I) Sonja Pieck –         spieck@bates.edu
Neuroscience (I/N) Nancy Koven –   nkoven@bates.edu
Women & Gender Studies (I) Rebecca Herzig – rherzig@bates.edu

DEPARTMENT CHAIRS:

Anthropology (S) Loring Danforth – ldanfort@bates.edu
Art and Visual Culture (H) Ned Harwood – eharwood@bates.edu
Biology (N) Ryan Bavis – rbavis@bates.edu
Chemistry (N) T. Glen Lawson – tlawson@bates.edu
Economics (S) Daniel Riera-Crichton – drieracr@bates.edu
Education (S) Patty Buck – pbuck@bates.edu

Anita Charles – acharles@bates.edu

Bronwyn Sale – bsale@bates.edu

Mara Tieken – mtieken@bates.edu

English (H) Sanford Freedman – sfreedma@bates.edu (Fall 2016)

Eden Osucha – eosucha@bates.edu (Winter 2017)

French and Francophone Studies (H) Alexandre Dauge-Roth – adaugero@bates.edu
Geology (N) Michael Retelle – mretelle@bates.edu
German & Russian Studies (H) Craig Decker – cdecker@bates.edu
History (S) Karen Melvin – kmelvin@bates.edu
Mathematics (N) Pallavi Jayawant – pjayawa@bates.edu
Music (H) Hiroya Miura – hmiura@bates.edu
Philosophy (H) David Cummiskey – dcummisk@bates.edu
Physics & Astronomy (N) Hong Lin – hlin@bates.edu
Politics (S) Stephen Engel – sengel@bates.edu
Psychology (S) Amy Douglass – adouglas@bates.edu

Kathy Mathis – kmathis@bates.edu

Religious Studies (H) Cynthia Baker – cbaker@bates.edu
Rhetoric (H) Charles Nero – cnero@bates.edu (Fall)

Stephanie Kelley-Romano – skelley@bates.edu (Winter)

Sociology (S) Emily Kane – ekane@bates.edu
Spanish (H) David George – dgeorge@bates.edu
Theater & Dance (H) Michael Reidy – mreidy@bates.edu