Whom to See for What

Academic Resources:

Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculty: Matt Auer, mauer@bates.edu, 786-6066, 120 Lane Hall

Associate dean of the faculty, natural sciences & mathematics and social sciences: Kathryn Low, klow@bates.edu, 786-6066, 120 Lane Hall

Associate dean of the faculty, humanities and interdisciplinary studies; first-year seminar: Kirk Read, kread@bates.edu, 786-6067, 121 Lane Hall

Academic Administrative Assistants: provide administrative support for faculty (i.e. scheduling space, scheduling meetings, etc.) For questions, please contact supervisor, Alison Keegan, akeegan@bates.edu, 753-6952

Budgets and Administration; Jason Scheideman, assistant dean of the faculty, jscheide@bates.edu, 753-6982, 214 Hedge Hall

Career Development Center: working closely with students, alumni, employers and colleagues at every stage of the career development process. bcdc@bates.edu, 786-6232, 53 Campus Ave.

Computer User Services: Andrew White, director, awhite@bates.edu, 786-6491, Pettengill G19

Faculty Development Grants: Kathy Low, associate dean of the faculty, klow@bates.edu, and Alison Keegan, akeegan@bates.edu,786-6066/753-6952; a variety of intramural grants make support available for research and curriculum development

Harward Center for Community Partnerships: Darby Ray, director, dray3@bates.edu, 786-6202, 161/163 Wood Street

Information & Library Services: Katie Vale, vice president and librarian, kvale@bates.edu, 786-6260

Ladd Library: reference and first-year seminar contact: Laura Juraska, associate college librarian for reference services, 786-8324, Ladd Library

Mathematics and Statistics workshop:  Grace Coulombe, director, gcoulomb@bates.edu, 786-8374, Learning Commons, Ladd Library

Peer Science Leaders: Louise Brogan, Writing Specialist for Science and Quantitative Writing, lbrogan@bates.edu, 786-6985, 224 Coram Library

Peer Writing Assistance–Writing at Bates: Daniel Sanford, Director of Writing, dsanford@bates.edu, 786-6160, Coram 228.

Project Specialist (faculty recruiting, honors program, graduate studies), Nancy LePage, nlepage@bates.edu 786-6480, 7 Lane Hall

Registrar: Mary Meserve, registrar, mmeserve@bates.edu, registrar@bates.edu, 755-5949, fax-786-8350, Libbey Forum, 44 Mountain Avenue

Student research: Kerry O’Brien and Alison Keegan, kobrien@bates.edu and akeegan@bates.edu, 786-6065/753-6952; grant support (various deadlines) is available for students conducting thesis research or independent studies, as well as research during the summer

Writing at Bates: Daniel Sanford, director, dsanford@bates.edu, writing@bates.edu, 786-6160, 228 Coram Library

Student Resources:

Athletics: Kevin McHugh, director, kmchugh@bates.edu, 786-6341, Alumni Gym; Physical Education class requirements: Sue Harriman, assistant director, sharrima@bates.edu, 786-6238, Alumni Gym

Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students: Joshua McIntosh, jmcintos@bates.edu, 786-6219, 102 Lane Hall; Donna Sevigny, administrative assistant, dsevigny@bates.edu, 786-6219

Accessible Education and Student Support: Abigail Nelson, assistant dean, anelson2@bates.edu, 786-6222, 101 Lane Hall; Anne Byrne, administrative assistant, abyrne@bates.edu, 786-6222, 101 Lane Hall

Campus Life: Kim Trauceniek, associate dean of students, ktraucen@bates.edu, 786-6305, 108 Chase Hall; Carrie Murphey, assistant dean of students for first-year programs, cmurphey@bates.edu, 786-6305, 108 Chase Hall

Harward Center for Community Partnerships: Marty Deschaines, assistant director for community volunteerism and student development, mdeschai@bates.edu, 786-8273; Kristen Cloutier, kcloutie@bates.edu, assistant director for center operations, 786-6202, 163 Wood Street

Health services: Christy Tisdale, director, ctisdale@bates.edu, 786-6199, 31 Campus Avenue

International Student Programs: James Reese, associate dean of students, jreese@bates.edu, 786-6219, 104 Lane Hall

Office of Intercultural Education: Julisa De Los Santos, Assistant Dean, 786-8303, jdelossa@bates.edu, Chase Hall

Off-Campus Study: Stephen Sawyer, associate dean of students, ssawyer@bates.edu, 786-6223, 126 Roger Williams Hall; Shelley Palmer, administrative assistant, spalmer@bates.edu, 786-6223, 126 Roger Williams Hall

Residence Life and Health EducationErin Foster-Zsiga, associate dean of students, efoster@bates.edu, 786-6215, 110 Lane Hall; Kristy Gagne, coordinator of residence life and housing, kgagne@bates.edu, 786-6215, 110 Lane Hall

Student Support and Community Standards: Carl Steidel, associate dean of students, csteidel@bates.edu, 786-6220, 103 Lane Hall; Ree Russell, coordinator of student support and community standards, rrussell@bates.edu, 786-6220, 103 Lane Hall

Student financial services: Wendy Glass, director, 786-6096, fax-786-8350, finaid@bates.edu (financial aid), finoff@bates.edu (student billing), Libbey Forum, 44 Mountain Avenue


Other Resources:

Access Control Office: Keys, Bates I.D. cards, Susan Nattress, electronic access system manager, snattres@bates.edu, 786-6379, Chase Hall; Katie Fox, access control assistant/student shuttle coordinator, kfox@bates.edu, 786-6337, Chase Hall

Campus security: Tom Carey, director, tcarey@bates.edu, 786-6254, 245 College Street

Chaplain: Brittany Longsdorf, Multifaith Chaplain, blongsdo@bates.edu, 786-8272; Nicole Pelonzi, program coordinator, npelonzi@bates.edu, 786-8272, 163 Wood Street

Classroom technology and events support (CTES): ctes@lists.bates.edu, 786-6424, 118 Pettigrew Hall; Scott Tiner, stiner@bates.edu, 786-6396, 116 Pettigrew Hall

College Bookstore: Sarah Potter, director, spotter@bates.edu, 786-6120; Becky Lovett, textbooks and assistant manager, rlovett@bates.edu, 786-8213, Chase Hall

Computer purchases: Computer sales and service, computer_sales@bates.edu, 786-6376, 110 Russell Street

Computing help desk serviceshelpdesk@bates.edu, for computer and phone issues, 786-8222, Ladd Library, 1st floor

Dining services: Cheryl Lacey, director clacey@bates.edu, 786-8355, Commons

Employee benefits: Brenda Sawyer, benefits specialist, bsawyer@bates.edu, 786-6176, 215 College Street

Digital Media, Classroom, and Event Support: Scott Tiner, stiner@bates.edu, 786-6396, Pettigrew Hall, Room 116; Kristen Carey, kcarey@bates.edu, 786-6487, 118A Pettigrew Hall;

Facilities Services: building services, repair, moving furniture, 786-6449

Office Services, Print and Mail: campus pickup and delivery, packages and stamps, printing and paper, Laurie Henderson, lhenders@bates.edu, 786-6228

Parking: Security and Campus Safety, Mike Voisine, Parking coordinator, mvoisine@bates.edu, 786-6254, 245 College Street

Reimbursement for Faculty: meetings, travel, start-up funds, Jason Scheideman, jscheide@bates.edu, 753-6982, 214 Hedge Hall

Visas for International Visitors:  Kerry O’Brien, assistant dean of the faculty, kobrien@bates.edu, 786-6065