G Suite – Calendar Sharing and Permissions (Part 2) (IT Training Tip)

This tip describes how to share your Primary and Secondary Bates G Suite Calendars with your colleagues and other individuals. This tip also explains in detail the four levels of permissions/access that are available with calendar sharing.

There are several ways in which you can share your Primary and Secondary calendars, and you can determine how you want each of your calendars shared, and the type of access you want to provide to your colleaguesBy default, your Primary calendar is shared with everyone at Bates with See only free/busy (hide details) access. Therefore, if you wanted to see someone’s availability, you can add a coworker’s calendar to the Other calendars section in your Bates G Suite Calendar and view their free/busy times.

Any Secondary calendars you create remain private by default until you choose to share them.

Note: You can make your Primary calendar completely private, but if you choose to do so, this also disables the ability for event organizers to use the SUGGESTED TIMES and FIND A TIME features. These features can be used by event organizers to quickly find a meeting day/time with you and others. If someone has elected not to share their calendar, you will see an asterisk at the end of their name in your event guest list.

Sharing Calendars –
Login to your Bates G Suite Account:

  • On your computer, open your Bates Gmail account from within a web browser (Recommended: Google Chrome) and login 
  • While in your Bates Gmail accountclick on the G Suite App Launcher, located on the top–right, and click on the Calendar icon to view your Bates G Suite Calendar
    • You may need to scroll down your list of Apps to see the Calendar icon

Primary Calendar:

  • Hover your mouse over your Primary calendar, and this will reveal three vertical dots (known as the meatball menu)
  • Click on the meatball menu
  • From the pop-up menu, click on Settings and sharing
  • Scroll to the Access permission section

Make available to public

  • Select this option by placing a checkmark in the checkbox to make your calendar public, making all events visible to the world, including via Google search
  • Selecting this option will also disable the default sharing to Make available for Bates College

Make available for Bates College

  • By default, there will be a checkmark in the checkbox that makes your calendar accessible to anyone at Bates who has a G Suite account, including students
  • Anyone accessing your calendar will only see your free/busy times with no event details
  • Remove the checkmark from the checkbox to make your calendar completely private
    • If someone would like to access your calendar, they must send you a request for access

Secondary Calendar:

  • Hover your mouse over a Secondary calendar. This will reveal an “X” and three vertical dots
  • Click on the meatball menu
  • From the pop-up menu, click on Settings and sharing
  • Scroll to the Access permission section

Make available to public

  • By default, this option will be unchecked
  • Select this option by placing a checkmark in the checkbox to make your Secondary calendar public, 
    including event details visible to the world, including via Google searchmaking all events, 
  • Make available for Bates CollegeSelecting this option will also disable the sharing option to 

Make available for Bates College

  • By default, this option will be unchecked, completely private and not shared with anyone at Batesmaking your calendar 
  • Place a checkmark in the checkbox to make your calendar accessible to anyone at Bates who has a G Suite account, including students, who will then be able to see all event details

Sharing your Primary or Secondary Calendar with Specific People –
Granting Access to your Primary or Secondary Calendar:

  • Access your calendar’s Settings and sharing
  • Scroll to the Share with specific people section
  • Click on ADD PEOPLE
  • In the pop-up window, type an email address or name, then select a level of permissions for that individual
  • Click on SEND

Removing Access to your Primary or Secondary Calendar:

  • Access your calendar’s Settings and sharing
  • Scroll to the Share with specific people section
  • Click on the “X” to the right of the individual you want to unshare your calendar

Permissions Explained –
The following four permissions types below are listed in a most restrictive to least restrictive order.See Only Free/Busy (Hide Details):

  • Individuals can see when your calendar is booked (busy) and when it has free time. The event title and other details of your events are not shown.

See All Event Details:

  • Individuals can see the title and details of all events except those marked as private

Make Changes to Events:

  • Individuals can add and edit events on your calendar
  • Individuals can see the details and titles for all eventsincluding private ones
  • Individuals can restore or permanently delete events from the calendar’s Trash

Make Changes and Manage Sharing:

  • Individuals can change your calendar’s sharing settings
  • Individuals can add and edit events on your calendar
  • Individuals can see the details and titles for all eventsincluding private ones
  • Individuals can permanently delete the calendar
  • Individuals can restore or permanently delete events from the calendar’s Trash

Feedback?

 

Information collected through this form is covered by our website Privacy Policy.