Schedule for Room Access and Dining

2016  FALL SEMESTER

August Room Key distribution times and Building Access information
Thursday, August 25 Residence Life Staff returns for training and orientation
Monday, August 29 First Year Students move into housing
September
Tuesday, August 30 New Student Orientation begins
Thursday, September 1st First Year Students leave for AESOP trips
Sunday, September 4 Upper-class Students return to campus (First meal is dinner Sep. 5)
Wednesday, September 7 Classes begin, Fall Semester
October
October 19-23 Fall Recess (Residences remain open; limited meals provided*)
November
October 29-November 4 Registration for Winter Semester
November 19-27 Thanksgiving Recess (Residences remain open; Meals end with dinner Nov. 18 and resume with dinner Nov. 27*)
December
Friday, December 9 Fall Semester classes end at 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday, December 13 Final Examinations begin
Saturday, December 17 Final Examinations end** (Meals end with dinner Dec. 20*)
Sunday, December 18 Residences close at 5:00 p.m.

2017 WINTER SEMESTER

January Room Key distribution times and Building Access information
Saturday, January 7 Card access begins
Sunday, January 8 Residence Halls officially open (Meals begin with dinner)
Monday, January 9 Winter Semester classes begin
Mid-January Upperclass Room Selection Process begins for Fall 2016. See Room Selection Dates for appropriate deadlines.
February
Saturday, February 18-26 Winter Recess (Residences remain open; Meals end with dinner on Feb. 19 and resume with dinner on Feb. 28*)
April
Friday, April 7 Classes end, Winter Semester
Tuesday, April 11 Final Examinations begin
Saturday, April 15 Final Examinations end** (Meals end with dinner April 16*)
Sunday, April 16 Residences close at 5:00 p.m.

2017 SHORT TERM

April Room Key distribution times and Building Access information
Sunday, April 23 Residence Halls open at 8:00 a.m. (Meals begin with dinner)
Monday, April 24 Classes begin, Short Term
May
Friday, May 26 Classes end, Short Term  (Meals end with dinner)
Saturday, May 27 Residence Halls close for non-seniors at 5:00 p.m.
Friday – Sunday, May 26-28 Commencement Weekend
Sunday, May 28 Senior residences close at 5:00 p.m.
  • *Note: The college meal plan includes meals during the October recess, i.e., there is no extra cost for eating meals in the dining commons during this period. However, the meal plan does not cover all other recess periods; limited meals will be available for purchase in the dining commons during these periods.
  • **Reminder: Final examinations cannot be rescheduled to accommodate the travel plans of students. Excused absences are not granted for travel.
  • Visit our section on Upper-Class Room Selection Information for pertinent dates and deadlines regarding housing lotteries and applications for the next academic year.
  • If you will be studying abroad, please take special note of pertinent dates and deadlines.