background

Schedule for Room Access and Dining

Please visit our section on Upper-Class Room Selection Information for pertinent dates and deadlines regarding housing lotteries and applications for the next academic year.

If you will be studying abroad, please take special note of pertinent dates and deadlines.

2012 FALL SEMESTER
August For Room Key distribution times and Building Access information, click here.
Sunday, August 26 Residence Life Staff returns for training and orientation
Monday, August 27 AESOP participants begin to arrive. AESOP participants will receive full details about arrival, move-in, and trip departure dates after AESOP registration closes.
Friday, August 31 Residence Halls open for upperclass students. For upperclass Room Key distribution times and Building Access information, click here.
September
Saturday, September 1 New Student Orientation Begins
Monday, September 3 Meals for upperclass students begin with dinner
Wednesday, September 5 Classes begin, Fall Semester
October
October 17-21 Fall Recess (Residences remain open; limited meals provided*)
November
November 3-9 Registration for Winter Semester
November 17-25 Thanksgiving Recess (Meals end with dinner Nov. 16 and resume with dinner Nov. 25*)
December
Friday, December 7 Fall Semester classes end at 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday, December 11 Final Examinations begin
Saturday, December 15 Final Examinations end** (Meals end with dinner Dec. 15*)
Sunday, December 16 Residences close at 5:00 p.m.
2013 WINTER SEMESTER
January For Room Key distribution times and Building Access information, click here.
Sunday, January 6 Residence Halls open (Meals begin with dinner)
Monday, January 7 Winter Semester classes begin
Mid-January Upperclass Room Selection Process begins for Fall 2013. See Room Selection Dates You Should Know for appropriate deadlines.
February
Saturday –  February 16-24 Winter Recess (Meals end with dinner on Feb. 15 and resume with dinner on Feb. 24*)
April
Friday, April 5 Classes end, Winter Semester
Tuesday, April 9 Final Examinations begin
Saturday, April 13 Final Examinations end (Meals end with dinner April 13**)
Sunday, April 14 Residences close at 5:00 p.m.
2013 SHORT TERM
April For Room Key distribution times and Building Access information, click here.
Sunday, April 21 Residence Halls open at 8:00 a.m. (Meals begin with dinner)
Monday, April 22 Classes begin, Short Term
May
Friday, May 24 Classes end, Short Term
Saturday, May 25 Residence Halls close for non-seniors at 5:00 p.m. (Meals end with dinner)
Friday – Sunday, May 24-26 Commencement Weekend
Sunday, May 26 Senior residences close at 5:00 p.m.

*NOTE: The College meal plan includes meals during the October recess, i.e., there is no extra cost for eating meals in the dining commons during this period. However, please note that the meal plan does not cover all other recess periods; limited meals will be available for purchase in the dining commons during these periods.

**REMINDER: Final examinations cannot be rescheduled to accommodate the travel plans of students. Excused absences ARE NOT granted for travel.


  • Contact Us