Research Services Staff


Research Librarians


Christina Bell, Humanities Librarian

Christina BellAreas of particular knowledge – Classical and Medieval StudiesAsian Studies, EnglishEuropean Studies, Foreign Languages and Literatures, Latin American Studies, PhilosophyReligious Studies, and general humanities

Meet with Christina: consultation form; email: cbell@bates.edu; ph: (207) 786-8323


Laura Juraska, Associate College Librarian for Research Services

Laura JuraskaAreas of particular knowledge – African-American Studies, American Cultural Studies, Anthropology, Education, and Women and Gender Studies

Meet with Laura: consultation form; email: ljuraska@bates.edu; ph: (207) 786-8324


Christine Murray, Social Science Librarian

Christine MurrayAreas of particular knowledge – Economics, Politics, Psychology, Sociology, US History,  social science data sets and general social science

Meet with Christine: consultation form; email: cmurray2@bates.edu; ph: (207) 786-6268


Christopher Schiff, Music and Arts Librarian

Profile pic

Areas of particular knowledge – Art and Visual CultureDanceFilm StudiesMusicTheater, Rhetoric, and copyright

Meet with Chris: consultation form; email: cschiff@bates.edu; ph: (207) 786-6274


Pete Schlax, Science and Data Librarian

Pete SchlaxAreas of particular knowledge – Biology, ChemistryEnvironmental Studies, GeologyMathematicsNeuroscience, Physics, Astronomy and science data.

Meet with Pete: consultation form; email: pschlax2@bates.edu; ph: (207) 786-8328


Interlibrary Loan Staff


Perrin Lumbert, Interlibrary Loan Assistant

ph: (207) 786-6471; email: plumbert@bates.edu

Zack Handlen,Interlibrary Loan Assistant

ph: (207) 786-6471; email: zhandlen@bates.edu