Posts from February 2001
Artist offers message of healing and hope at Bates

Wednesday, February 28, 2001 2:25 pm

Justine Nauman-Greif, a Kennebunk-based social worker, quiltmaker and cabinetmaker, will discuss Witnessing the Power of Art to Lead the Spirit: The Domestic Violence Quilt/Screen Project Thursday, March 8, in Skelton Lounge, Chase Hall, 56 Campus Ave.

Social psychologist to discuss prejudice

Wednesday, February 28, 2001 2:18 pm

Patricia Devine, a social psychologist from the University of Wisconsin, will discuss The Emotional and Physiological Components of Prejudice Thursday, March 8, in Room G52 of Pettengill Hall, 4 Andrews Road.

Wellesley scholar to discuss race and privilege

Monday, February 26, 2001 2:11 pm

Peggy McIntosh, associate director of the Wellesley College Center for Research on Women, will discuss White People Learning About People of Color: Learning About Themselves Tuesday, March 6, at Schaeffer Theatre, 305 College St.

Faculty members receive Phillips Fellowships

Wednesday, February 21, 2001 2:03 pm

Margaret Maurer-Fazio, assistant professor of economics, and Francisca Lopez, associate professor of Spanish, have been awarded Phillips Faculty Fellowships, announced Donald W. Harward, president of Bates College.

Students accepted to 'Next Generation' exhibit

Friday, February 16, 2001 1:55 pm

Six studio art majors from Bates College have had work accepted to a juried exhibit titled The Next Generation, which opens Thursday, Feb. 22, and runs through Saturday, March 24, at the Center for Maine Contemporary Art in Rockport. An opening reception will be held Saturday, Feb. 24, at the museum.

Classical concert at Bates, then to Carnegie Hall

Friday, February 16, 2001 1:45 pm

Scott Murphree, baritone, and Alvin Novak, pianist, will perform commissioned works by contemporary composers Virgil Thomson, Paul Bowles, Ned Rorem, John Gruen and Francis Poulenc for this year's Alice S. Esty concert Friday, March 2, in the Olin Arts Center Concert Hall, 75 Russell St.

Alumni to discuss autism

Monday, February 12, 2001 1:36 pm

Jessica Lord '98, a graduate student in the clinical psychology program at the University of Connecticut, will lecture on the biological correlates of autism on Thursday, Feb. 15, in Room 113 of Carnegie Science Hall, 44 Campus Ave.

Neil Simon's "The Good Doctor" to be performed

Friday, February 2, 2001 1:28 pm

Neil Simon's play The Good Doctor will be performed at 8 p.m. Friday, Feb. 9 and Saturday, Feb. 10, and at 2 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 11, in the Gannett Theater, 305 College St. Tickets are $6 and $3 for students and seniors.

Organ trio Soulive brings funk, soul and jazz

Friday, February 2, 2001 1:21 pm

Soulive, an organ trio blending funk, jazz and soul music, will perform at 8 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 11, in Chase Hall Lounge, 56 Bates College. Tickets are $5 and will be sold at the door.

Pianist Duncan J. Cumming performs

Thursday, February 1, 2001 1:14 pm

Pianist Duncan J. Cumming, a native of Maine and a Bates alumnus, returns to Bates College to perform at 3 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 11 in the Olin Arts Center, 75 Russell St. The performance is free and open to the public.

Load more