Stories by Bates News
Former slave to address abolitionist gathering

Monday, November 15, 1999 12:00 am

How Long 'Til Freedom? a 1999 abolitionist gathering to present the sobering reality of contemporary slaves and suggested innovative responses to their plight, will be held at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 2, in the Benjamin Mays Center on the Bates College campus. The public is invited to attend free of charge.

Seminar series in entrepreneurship explores finance and human capital

Monday, November 15, 1999 12:00 am

Jack Keigwin, a member of the Bates College class of 1959 and president of F.H. French Co. Inc. of Lincoln, R.I., a leading designer of commercial and industrial properties, will discuss "Sustaining the Vision: Finance and Human Capital" at 7 p.m. Friday, Dec. 3, in the Edmund S. Muskie Archives, 70 Campus Ave. Keigwin's talk is part of the Bates Seminar Series in Entrepreneurship. The public is invited to attend free of charge.

U.S. Rep. John Lewis to discuss "Civil Rights and Race in America"

Monday, November 15, 1999 12:00 am

U.S. Rep. John Lewis (D-Ga.) will discuss "Civil Rights and Race in America" at 7:30 p.m. Monday, Nov. 29, in the Edmund S. Muskie Archives, 70 College Ave. The public is invited to attend the Muskie Archives Millennial Series lecture without charge.

Modern Dance Company program features glimpse at millennial tribute

Tuesday, November 2, 1999 12:00 am

The Bates College Modern Dance Company, under the artistic direction of Marcy Plavin, presents "Simply Fabulous," a concert showcasing the talents of student artists and featuring "Just A Moment," a work in progress commissioned by the college as part of its millennial celebration, at 8 p.m. Friday and Saturday, Dec. 3 and 4; and 2 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 5, in Schaeffer Theatre.

Bates holds "Refugees, Displacement and Diaspora" series

Tuesday, October 26, 1999 12:00 am

In response to the plight of refugees throughout the world, Bates College will present a series of films and talks focused on "Refugees, Displacement and Diaspora" Wednesday, Nov. 3; Thursday, Nov. 4; Monday, Nov. 8; Wednesday, Nov. 10; and Thursday, Nov. 11 at various times and places on the Bates campus. "Refugees, Displacement and Diaspora" is made possible by generous support from the Christian A. Johnson Endeavor Foundation in New York. The public is invited to attend all events of the series free of charge.

Theatre at Bates to Shakespeare's "Twelfth Night"

Friday, October 22, 1999 3:05 pm

Theater at Bates will stage William Shakespeare's timeless comedy "Twelfth Night" at 8 p.m. Friday, Nov. 5, in Shaeffer Theater, Bates College. The play also will be performed at 8 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 6; 2 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 7; 8 p.m. Friday, Nov. 12; 8 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 13; and 2 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 14. Tickets are $6 for general admission and $3 for students and seniors. Tickets may be reserved through the Schaeffer Theatre box office by calling 207-786-6161.

Series in entrepreneurship explores business ventures

Thursday, October 21, 1999 12:00 am

Ann M. Myer will discuss "Realizing the Full Potential of the Venture" at 6 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 28, in Chase Hall Lounge on Campus Avenue as part of The Bates Seminar Series in Entrepreneurship. The public is invited to attend free of charge. For more information, call the Bates College Office of Career Services at 207-786-6232.

Bates College students compose computer music

Thursday, October 21, 1999 12:00 am

Seventeen Bates College student composers enrolled in "Computers, Music and the Arts," a course taught by William Matthews, the Alice Swanson Esty Professor of Music, will give a concert of new work using digital recording, sampling and synthesizers at 9 p.m. Monday, Nov. 1, in the Olin Arts Center Concert Hall on the Bates campus. The public is invited to attend free of charge. For additional information, call the Olin Arts Center at 207-786-6135.

Bates College Orchestra to perform

Thursday, October 21, 1999 12:00 am

The Bates College Orchestra, under the direction of William Matthews, the Alice Swanson Esty Professor of Music, will perform a program of range and contrast at 8 p.m., Nov. 12, in the Olin Arts Center Concert Hall. The public is invited to attend free of charge. For additional information, call the Olin Arts Center at 207-786-6135.

Award winning biographer of mathematicians to speak

Thursday, September 30, 1999 12:00 am

Constance Reid, author of "A Long Way from Euclid" and "From Zero to Infinity," will discuss "Captured by Mathematics" at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 14, in Room 204 of Carnegie Science, Bates College. The public is invited to attend the annual Richard W. Sampson Lecture, and admission is free.

Load more