Stories about "Service"
Bishop Gene Robinson, NewsHour analyst Paul Solman to speak in Bates College appearances

Thursday, October 15, 2009 6:45 am

Paul Solman, an economics, business and occasional art correspondent to "The NewsHour with Jim Lehrer" speaks at 7 p.m. Monday, Oct. 5, and 7 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 7, in Chase Hall, 56 Campus Ave. He offers two lectures on a common theme, "The Divided Self: Money, God and Neighbor." The Oct. 5 talk is titled "Spending Beyond Our Means and Are We Screwed If We Don't?" and the Oct. 7 talk, "IS Money The Root of All Evil?" The Right Rev. V. Gene Robinson, bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of New Hampshire and the first openly gay, non-celibate bishop in a major Christian denomination, speaks at noon Thursday, Oct. 15, in the College Chapel, College Street. His talk is called "Religion and Gay Marriage: Why They Matter So Much."

Bates holds annual fair

Wednesday, October 14, 2009 2:43 pm

Bates College hosts its annual Graduate and Professional School Fair from 11 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 27, in the Clifton Daggett Gray Athletic Building, Central Avenue. The community is invited. There is no admission charge and no prior registration is required.

Sun Journal looks at Boys & Girls Club improvements thanks to Catherine Elliott '12

Wednesday, September 30, 2009 4:34 pm

A Sun Journal story reports on the new gymnasium floor installed at...

New Straits Times about the liberal arts quotes Yang Jerng Hwa '05

Thursday, September 10, 2009 1:18 pm

In the New Straits Times of Malasia, a Sept. 1, 2009, story...

David Scobey tells Inside Higher Ed readers that colleges should launch community news organizations

Friday, August 28, 2009 12:58 pm

An Inside Higher Ed essay by Bates cultural historian David Scobey suggests...

Abroad Experience

Wednesday, August 19, 2009 10:09 am

Photographs from study abroad hint at the space between knowledge and experience

Goodlatte gives raise to charities

Tuesday, July 21, 2009 10:06 am

The Daily News-Record of Harrisonburg, Va., reports that U.S. Rep. Bob Goodlatte...

Fresh Air kids get warm, wet welcome

Tuesday, July 7, 2009 10:31 am

The Portland Press Herald talks to Laura Young Connelly ’88 of Cape...

Clean Sweep sets record, raising more than $21,000 for local nonprofits

Thursday, July 2, 2009 1:03 pm

Bates' ninth annual Clean Sweep, a "garage sale" of usable goods donated by departing students that was held June 20, raised a record $21,400 in proceeds that will be divided among local nonprofit organizations.

The Wounds of War

Wednesday, July 1, 2009 2:13 pm

Army physician Dave Lounsbury ’72, a veteran of Iraq, brings the war home

Load more