Stories about "Maine and New England"
Helen Nearing documentary to be shown

Friday, October 12, 2001 4:05 pm

The documentary film "Helen Nearing & The Good Life: Conscious Living and Conscious Dying" will be shown Tuesday, Oct. 23, in Skelton Lounge of Chase Hall at Bates College.

Coffey named Administrator of the Year by NACWAA

Wednesday, October 10, 2001 8:31 am

The National Association of Collegiate Women's Athletic Administrators (NACWAA) has recognized Bates College Director of Athletics Suzanne Coffey as its 2001 NCAA Division III Administrator of the Year.

Bates Dining Services garners award in lobster recipe competition

Friday, September 7, 2001 3:47 pm

A Bates College culinary team snared a bronze medal in the Seventh Annual Governor's Great Taste of Maine lobster recipe competition, held recently at the Blaine House in Augusta.

'Hyman Bloom: The Lubec Woods' on view at Bates Museum of Art

Thursday, September 6, 2001 3:59 pm

An exhibition of paintings and drawings by distinguished artist Hyman Bloom will be on view at the Bates College Museum of Art from Sept. 14 through Oct. 17.

Peg Ficks '01 named NCAA Woman of the Year from Maine

Tuesday, August 28, 2001 2:52 pm

Recent Bates College graduate Peg Ficks of Washington, Conn., has been selected by the NCAA as the 2001 Woman of the Year from Maine.

Remarks of the presidents

Tuesday, August 21, 2001 11:24 am

Regarding the Presidents’ Fourth of July Declaration on the Civic Responsibilities of Higher Education.

Bates Dance Festival launches performance season

Tuesday, June 26, 2001 8:09 am

The Bates Dance Festival, northern New England's leading contemporary dance producing and training program, announces its 2001 performance season, July 21 through Aug. 18.

Graduate produces Maine Public Broadcasting documentary

Tuesday, June 19, 2001 8:17 am

2001 cum laude graduate Nicole Goloskov of Chadds Ford, Pa., has produced "Camera Obscura," a video portrait of Rockland, Maine, photographer Chris Pinchbeck, to be broadcast Saturday, June 30, and Sunday, July 1, as part of the Maine Public Broadcasting television series "True North."

Bates senior's documentary airs on PBS

Tuesday, June 5, 2001 3:46 pm

Bates College senior Frederick B. Brumder of Milwaukee, Wis., has produced "Prisoner of the Past: The Story of A World War II Jewish American P.O.W.," that will be broadcast Thursday, June 7, as part of "Maine Independents," a Maine Public Broadcasting television series.

Bates students present work at Geological Society of America conference

Saturday, May 5, 2001 1:09 pm

Five Bates students presented work last month in Burlington, Vt. at the Geological Society of America's Northeastern regional conference, attended by nearly 900 geoscientists from New England.

Load more