Stories about "Maine and New England"
Activists to discuss indigenous politics, environmentalism in the Americas at Bates College

Friday, February 12, 2010 9:39 am

The politics and environmental interests of indigenous peoples in the Americas, including Native Americans from Maine, are at issue in two nights of panel discussions at Bates College at Monday, Feb. 22 and Tuesday, Feb. 23.

Museum exhibitor Babb to discuss approach to color

Wednesday, February 3, 2010 11:43 am

Maine artist Joel Babb, known for his wilderness paintings and panoramic cityscapes, speaks about the use of color at 7 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 25, in Room 104 of the Olin Arts Center at Bates College, 75 Russell St.

Bangor Daily News reports induction of Al Harvie '65 to Maine Sports Hall of Fame

Wednesday, February 3, 2010 9:09 am

The Bangor Daily News and other Maine news outlets report the induction...

Sun Journal op-ed by Dr. Nancy Cummings '81 touts 'fairer' way to pay for healthcare

Tuesday, February 2, 2010 11:37 am

Writing in the Sun Journal about national health-care legislation, Dr. Nancy Madsen...

Maine's first lady visits Bates

Wednesday, January 27, 2010 12:42 pm

(From left) Maine’s first lady Karen Baldacci and President Elaine Tuttle Hansen...

Fiddler-folksinger Lissa Schneckenburger returns to Bates

Saturday, January 9, 2010 10:25 am

Lissa Schneckenburger, a rising young folk musician and former Litchfield resident, performs at Bates College at 3 p.m. Sunday, Jan. 18, in the Olin Arts Center Concert Hall, 75 Russell St.

Perfectly Human

Friday, December 18, 2009 11:28 am

Amid failure, we can grow closer to what inspires us.

Portland Press Herald reports on 'Woman of Distinction' honor to Brenda Garrand '79

Wednesday, December 16, 2009 4:42 pm

The Portland Press Herald reports that Brenda Garrand ’79, founder, president and...

The Rachel Maddow Show interviews Jesse Connolly '01, campaign manager for Maine's gay marriage referendum

Wednesday, November 4, 2009 12:17 pm

The day after voters overturned Maine’s gay-marriage law, Portland Press Herald columnist...

Yearlong 'Bates Contemplates Food' initiative raised campus, community awareness of far-reaching issues

Monday, November 2, 2009 12:15 pm

Inspired by the 2008 opening of its new dining Commons and a $2.5 million gift from an anonymous donor supporting organic, natural and farm-fresh food, Bates College devoted the 2008-09 academic year to reflecting on issues, from environmental impacts to food justice, around what and how we choose to eat.

Load more