background

Important Telephone Numbers

Concierge (Switchboard and Campus Information) 207-786-6255
Campus Emergency 207-786-6111

President’s Office
A. Clayton Spencer, President
president@bates.edu 207-786-6100
Security and Campus Safety
Thomas B. Carey ’73, Director
tcarey@bates.edu 207-786-6254
Parents & Family Association
Alumni and Parent Engagement
Marianne Nolan Cowan ’92, Director
parents@bates.edu 207-786-8370
Bates Parents Fund
Alli Lambert, Director of Parent Engagement
and Development
mlambert@bates.edu 207-786-6239

STUDENT AFFAIRS

Tedd R. Goundie, Dean of Students tgoundie@bates.edu 207-786-6219
Holly L. Gurney, Associate Dean: First-Year Students hgurney@bates.edu 207-786-6220
James L. Reese, Associate Dean: Multicultural and International Students jreese@bates.edu 207-786-6222
Stephen W. Sawyer, Associate Dean: Study Abroad ssawyer@bates.edu 207-786-6223
Carl P. Steidel, Assistant Dean: Sophomore Students csteidel@bates.edu 207-786-6220
Keith M. Tannenbaum, Assistant Dean: Student Activities ktannenb@bates.edu 207-786-6305
Erin Foster Zsiga, Assistant Dean: Housing, ATOD Educator efoster@bates.edu 207-786-6215

STUDENT SERVICES

Career Development Center bcdc@bates.edu 207-786-6232
Chaplain’s Office 207-753-6906
College Bookstore bookstore@bates.edu 207-786-6121
Computer Sales computer_sales@bates.edu 207-786-6376
Computing Help Desk helpdesk@bates.edu 207-786-8222
Dining Services
Christine Schwartz, Director
cschwart@bates.edu  207-786-8279
Health Center
Christy P. Tisdale, Health Services Director
ctisdale@bates.edu 207-786-6199
Housing
Erin Foster Zsiga, Housing Director
housing@bates.edu 207-786-6215
Ladd Library
Gene L. Wiemers, VP for Information Services
library@bates.edu 207-786-6260
Office of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
Heather Lindkvist
hlindkvi@bates.edu 207-786-6445
Post Office 207-786-6104
Registrar and Academic Services
Mary Meserve, Registrar
www.bates.edu/registrar
registrar@bates.edu
207-755-5949
Student Employment Office seo@bates.edu 207-786-6303
Student Financial Services
Wendy Glass, Director
finaid@bates.edu
finoff@bates.edu
www.bates.edu/financial-services/
207-786-6096
Student Volunteer Office
Martha S. Deschaines ’75
mdeschai@bates.edu 207-786-8351
Writing at Bates
Hillory Oakes, Director of Writing
Professional Writing Staff 207-786-6159

CAMPUS FACILITIES

Harward Center for
Community Partnerships
Darby Ray, Director
dray3@bates.edu 207-786-6202
Museum of Art museum@bates.edu 207-786-6158
Olin Arts Center 207-786-6135
Physical Education/Athletics 207-786-6341
Kevin McHugh, Director of Athletics kmchugh@bates.edu 207-786-6341
Bates Sports Results www.bates.edu/athletics
Alumni Gymnasium (volleyball, basketball) 207-786-6341
Davis Fitness Center at Underhill Arena 207-786-8261
Merrill Gymnasium
(track and field, tennis, swimming)
207-786-6366
Underhill Arena (hockey, skating) 207-786-8260
Schaeffer Theater Box Office 207-786-6161

ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICES

Academic Affairs 207-753-6952
Office of Admission admission@bates.edu 207-786-6000
Alumni and Parent Engagement
Marianne N. Cowan ’92, Director
mcowan@bates.edu 207-786-6128
Annual Giving
Leah Gailey ’97, Interim Director
lgailey@bates.edu 207-786-6478