Instructors and students can have real-time discussions using the ‘Messaging’ feature in Lyceum. Messaging can only be between participants who share the same courses in Lyceum. You can access the Messaging environment from its icon in the upper right corner of Lyceum.
Its features include:
This field allows you to search and message with other users that are enrolled in the same courses as you. Note you will not be able to find a user who is not enrolled in one of your courses.
This feature allows you to send a request to a user to be added to your contact list. This is particularly convenient for those who message with certain users more often than others. This will also hold a ‘Request’ section, where other users’ requests to be added to your contact list will be placed. Note that if you do not want students to message you, add no one to your contact list (see the ‘Privacy’ section below)
This feature allows you to message with only one other user, making it private between the two of you. Note that this is only available for those who are enrolled and share a course together
This feature allows you to have multiple users in a conversation at once. Note that groups will only show if you are grouped in your Lyceum course. Students will not be able to create their own groups. Once an instructor has created groups within their Lyceum course (tutorial forthcoming), students have the option of messaging within their respective groups. If a student has multiple groups they’re in different courses, those groups will show the courses name below the group title
This feature allows you to pin or ‘star’ a private and group message. This will then group all of those particular messages in one area.
To customize the settings of your message menu, select the gear next to the search field
- Privacy – allows you to restrict who can send you messages. The options include those who are only on your contact list or those form your contact list and anyone within your courses. Select the ‘My contacts only’ box if you would like no one (if you contacts list in empty) to be able to email you
- Notification preferences – as a default, you will receive email notifications if you are offline and a user messages you. You can deselect this option if you would like to opt-out
- General – as a default, the user can either select the ‘send’ icon to send a message or press the ‘return’ or ‘enter’ key. Deselect this if you would like to only be able to send messages by the ‘send’ icon. This is a good option for those who would like to create paragraphs within their messages
Creating/Sending a Message
- Select the ‘Messaging’ icon at the top right-hand corner of your page
- After selected, the messaging menu will appear on the right-hand side of the page
- To send a private message, search the name of the user you’d like to message (type users name then press the ‘return’ or ‘enter’ key).
- Select that user and you will be directed to a private messaging box. Type in your desired message and select the ‘send’ icon
- A user receiving a message will see a red notification above the messaging icon
- If that user is also offline at the time of the message, they will also receive an email notification
- You can also search your own name in the search field and send yourself messages. This is known as your ‘Personal space’ where you can send yourself notes, links, etc. to access at a later date
Within a message, you will see a ‘…’ settings icon to the right of the name of your message. The message settings include:
- The ability to block a user or group message
- Add a user to contacts
- Mute a private or group conversation
- Star a conversation
- Delete a conversation
Note that ‘Group’ messaging will only allow you to view the other participants within the group by ‘Group info’, mute the conversation and star the conversation