Faculty External Grants Awarded 2008-2009

External Grants Awarded to Faculty, 2008-2009
Listed below are grants received by faculty between 1 June 2008 and 31 May 2009 from external agencies in support of scholarship. Also listed are awards, prizes, and fellowships received from external agencies and institutions. Unless otherwise noted, the faculty member is the principal investigator (P.I.) on the grant.

Claudia Aburto Guzmán, Associate Professor of Spanish
Agnese Haury Institute for Interpretation, University of Arizona, Research Scholarship, 2008.

Ryan Bavis, Assistant Professor of Biology
Maine INBRE (IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence) NIH: “Mechanisms Underlying Hyperoxia-induced Respiratory Plasticity.” $130,754, 2009-2010.

Lilian Childress, Assistant Professor of Physics
Single Investigator Cottrell College Science Award: “Manipulation of Individual Nuclear Spins in Diamond.” $45,000,

Carol Dilley, Assistant Professor of Dance
Artist’s Residency, the Lock-Up, Newcastle, Australia.

Beverly Johnson, Associate Professor of Geology
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service: “Student Monitoring and Assessment of the Sprague River Salt Marsh at Bates Morse Mountain Conservation Area.” $7,500, 2009.

Hiroya Miura, Assistant Professor of Music
Commissions: Film score for Junko’s Shamisen and Music from Japan.

Joseph Nicoletti, Lecturer in Art and Visual Culture
Maryland Institute College of Art’s Alfred & Trafford Klots Artist’s Residency, Rocheforte-en-Terre, France.

Michael Retelle, Professor of Geology

Small Point Operating Company, Phippsburg, ME:  “Student Internship for Coastal Geology Research at Seawall Beach and Adjacent Settings.” $5,970, 2009.

Michael Sargent, Associate Professor of Psychology
University of Chicago’s Arete Institute Defining Wisdom Project: “D*A*R*IA: Testing A Model of Principled Reasoning.” $60,000, 2008-2010.

Paula J. Schlax, Associate Professor of Chemistry
Maine INBRE (IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence) NIH, Translational Regulation of Ribosomal Protein and RNA Polymerase Subunit Synthesis in Diverse Bacterial Species. $111,640, 2009-2010.

Bonnie Shulman, Associate Professor of Mathematics
Maine Department of Education Girls Get It Math-Science Day Sub-Award: “Developing Teachers’ Understanding and Practice of Effective Mathematics Instruction.”  $3,500, 2008-2009.

Nathan Tefft, Assistant Professor of Economics
Yale University’s Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Grant: “Evaluating the Effects of ‘Easy’ State Interventions to Combat Childhood Obesity through Decreasing Soft Drink Consumption: Taxes and Vending Machines.”  $24,580, 2008-2009.

Thomas Wenzel, Charles A. Dana Professor of Chemistry
National Science Foundation: “Collaborative Research: Development of Contextual E-Learning Modules for Analytical Chemistry” $99,278, 2008-2010.

Peter Wong, Professor of Mathematics
National Science Foundation: “Topics in Topological Fixed Point Theory.” $107,226, 2008-2011.