Structure of the Process

The planning process is built around four teams, announced in March 2015 following a series of open sessions held throughout the fall and winter to identify key themes. The teams are composed of faculty, staff, and students, chosen through a combination of election and appointment. Overseeing the process as a whole is a Steering Committee comprising the chairs of the individual teams, members of senior staff with responsibilities in the areas under consideration, and several faculty members appointed at large. The Steering Committee is chaired by the President and the Dean of the Faculty. In all, 79 members of the Bates community are serving in formal roles in the planning process.

All members of the community – students, faculty, staff, and alumni – will be invited to provide input and suggestions as recommendations and analysis begin to emerge this winter.

The four areas of focus, each addressed by a separate team, are as follows:

  • Intellectual Life at Bates
  • Educating the Whole Person
  • Facilities, Infrastructure and Technology
  • Resources