Stories about "Society and culture"
Sociologist Duina's book 'Winning' captures media interest

Friday, December 3, 2010 12:15 pm

Winning makes us happy? Not so fast, says Associate Professor of Sociology...

CANCELED: Race in a Post-Human World lecture

Thursday, December 2, 2010 8:59 am

A talk scheduled for 7:15 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 2, by author Lisa Nakamura has been canceled due to illness.

'Antisocial Media' opens 'Race in a Post-Human World' series

Monday, November 22, 2010 1:53 pm

As part of a Bates College series exploring the impacts of social and technological progress on concepts of race, author Lisa Nakamura offers a lecture at 7:15 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 2, in Pettengill Hall's Keck Classroom (G52), 4 Andrews Road (Alumni Walk). Nakamura's lecture, titled Antisocial Media: Understanding Racism and Homophobia in a Digitally Connected World, will address social media's influence on concepts of race and homosexuality, and will touch on the recent suicide of Rutgers first-year Tyler Clementi.

One-man show at Bates College illuminates experiences of people of color

Wednesday, November 10, 2010 3:01 pm

Actor, educator and writer Steven Tejada brings his one-man show Boogie Down Journeys to Bates College at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 17, in the Benjamin Mays Center, 95 Russell St.

Global Lens series continues with Iranian film 'My Tehran for Sale'

Wednesday, October 27, 2010 3:47 pm

The Global Lens series of films from around the world continues at Bates College with "My Tehran for Sale" by Iranian director Granaz Moussavi, showing at 8 p.m. Friday, Oct. 29, and Saturday, Oct. 30, in the Olin Arts Center, Room 105, 75 Russell St.

Sociologist Duina discusses 'Winning' at two November book gatherings

Thursday, October 21, 2010 3:49 pm

Bates College sociologist Francesco Duina discusses his new book, "Winning: Reflections on an American Obsession" at 7 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 4, at Borders in South Portland, and at 10 a.m. Saturday, Nov. 13, at the Prince Memorial Library in Cumberland.

The Boston Globe praises Bates' social-network Web page

Wednesday, October 6, 2010 11:42 am

The Boston Globe‘s Christopher Shea, who writes the Brainiac blog for Boston.com,...

Daily Series: In Armenia, Shahinyan '12 picks up where the Soviets left off

Thursday, September 30, 2010 3:49 pm

As summer turns to fall, we are sharing stories from students who...

Museum of Art exhibitions explore Roman mythology, women in Islamic societies

Wednesday, September 29, 2010 11:20 am

The exhibits "Les Femmes du Maroc: An Exhibition by Lalla Essaydi," featuring photographs based on 19th-century Orientalist paintings, and "Metamorphoses: A Collaboration with Ovid by Wally Reinhardt," a collection of gouache paintings interpreting writings of the Roman poet, open Oct. 8 at the Bates College Museum of Art.

Doyle '72 offers ESPN.com commentary on coaching and life lessons

Friday, September 17, 2010 8:18 am

In an ESPN.com commentary, Dan Doyle ’72, an authority on sports in...

Load more