Stories about "Society and culture"
073110_segall-mercer-Shower_041
‘A Generous Thing for Friends’

Friday, February 11, 2011 8:29 am

Rachel Segall ’91 carries a baby for Erik Mercer ’91 and Sandro...

South Florida Gay News profiles hammer champ Keelin Godsey '06

Tuesday, January 4, 2011 4:05 pm

South Florida Gay News columnist Dan Woog profiles two-time NCAA champion hammer...

Chimpanzee 'doll' play suggests some biological basis for gender-specific play by humans

Tuesday, December 21, 2010 11:02 am

As a report in Science News states, the research "supports a controversial view that biology as well as society underlies boys’ and girls’ contrasting toy preferences."

Sociologist Duina's book 'Winning' captures media interest

Friday, December 3, 2010 12:15 pm

Winning makes us happy? Not so fast, says Associate Professor of Sociology...

CANCELED: Race in a Post-Human World lecture

Thursday, December 2, 2010 8:59 am

A talk scheduled for 7:15 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 2, by author Lisa Nakamura has been canceled due to illness.

'Antisocial Media' opens 'Race in a Post-Human World' series

Monday, November 22, 2010 1:53 pm

As part of a Bates College series exploring the impacts of social and technological progress on concepts of race, author Lisa Nakamura offers a lecture at 7:15 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 2, in Pettengill Hall's Keck Classroom (G52), 4 Andrews Road (Alumni Walk). Nakamura's lecture, titled Antisocial Media: Understanding Racism and Homophobia in a Digitally Connected World, will address social media's influence on concepts of race and homosexuality, and will touch on the recent suicide of Rutgers first-year Tyler Clementi.

One-man show at Bates College illuminates experiences of people of color

Wednesday, November 10, 2010 3:01 pm

Actor, educator and writer Steven Tejada brings his one-man show Boogie Down Journeys to Bates College at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 17, in the Benjamin Mays Center, 95 Russell St.

Global Lens series continues with Iranian film 'My Tehran for Sale'

Wednesday, October 27, 2010 3:47 pm

The Global Lens series of films from around the world continues at Bates College with "My Tehran for Sale" by Iranian director Granaz Moussavi, showing at 8 p.m. Friday, Oct. 29, and Saturday, Oct. 30, in the Olin Arts Center, Room 105, 75 Russell St.

Sociologist Duina discusses 'Winning' at two November book gatherings

Thursday, October 21, 2010 3:49 pm

Bates College sociologist Francesco Duina discusses his new book, "Winning: Reflections on an American Obsession" at 7 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 4, at Borders in South Portland, and at 10 a.m. Saturday, Nov. 13, at the Prince Memorial Library in Cumberland.

The Boston Globe praises Bates' social-network Web page

Wednesday, October 6, 2010 11:42 am

The Boston Globe‘s Christopher Shea, who writes the Brainiac blog for Boston.com,...

Load more