Maine College Republicans host Youth Leadership School at College

The Maine College Republicans will host the Youth Leadership School, the flagship program of the Leadership Institute, at Bates College from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Saturday and Sunday, Feb. 17-18. The school will be held in the Edmund S. Muskie Archives, at 70 Campus Ave.

The program is sponsored by the Maine College Republicans and the Leadership Institute, an Arlington, Va.-based organization that trains aspiring conservative leaders. The Youth Leadership School is open to high school and college students for a $30 registration fee, which includes three meals a day, course materials and optional local hotel accommodations.

To register or for more information, please contact this

This is the fourth consecutive year the Maine College Republicans have hosted the Youth Leadership School at Bates. The school is expected to draw college Republicans from as far north as Aroostook County and as far south as York County.

Founded in 1979 by conservative activist Morton Blackwell, the Leadership Institute uses quick-paced multimedia presentations and experienced instructors to share with students the organizational and campaign techniques necessary for effective leadership.

“It’s a great opportunity to host the Leadership Institute in Maine,” stated Nathaniel Walton, a junior at Bates and state chair of the Maine College Republicans. “The school will provide all of the knowledge and skills Maine College Republicans will need in order to become more effective grassroots activists.”

“Furthermore, the strategy and skills that Maine College Republicans learn this weekend will motivate them to promote the positive Republican message in every corner of the Pine Tree State in the coming weeks and months,” Walton concluded.

Notable graduates of the Youth Leadership School include deputy White House chief of staff Karl Rove, former Virginia Gov. and Republican National Committee Chairman James Gilmore, U.S. Senate Republican leader Mitch McConnell and Grover Norquist, president of Americans for Tax Reform.

View Comments