background

Staff


Meg Kimmel

  • 207-786-6328
  • mkimmel@bates.edu
  • Bates Communications Office
  • Associate Vice President for Communications
  • 141 Nichols Street,

For issues large and small, Meg teams with offices across campus to define and advance the key messages that speak most clearly to and about the college to both internal and external audiences.


H. Jay Burns

  • 207-786-6331
  • jburns@bates.edu
  • Bates Communications Office
  • Editorial Director and Editor, Bates Magazine
  • 141 Nichols Street,

Jay is editor of Bates Magazine, editorial director for select Advancement and President’s Office projects and editor of BatesNews.


Tammy Roy Caron

  • 207-786-6330
  • tcaron@bates.edu
  • Bates Communications Office
  • Assistant Director - Creative Design - Print
  • 145 Nichols Street,

Tammy works with the director to develop and implement strategic marketing and communication plans for Advancement, Admission, President’s Office, Dean of Students and Dean of Faculty.


Jeremy Cluchey

  • 207-753-6947
  • jcluchey@bates.edu
  • Bates Communications Office
  • Director of Creative Design
  • 145 Nichols Street,

Jeremy leads the Creative Design team in helping the college tell its best story across platforms — print, email, and web.

Jeremy Cluchey headshot

Sarah Crosby

  • 207-786-6330
  • scrosby2@bates.edu
  • Bates Communications Office
  • Photography/Video Fellow
  • 141 Nichols Street,

Sarah teams with Phyllis in providing photography and video content for campus news, marketing and social media outlets. She also runs the Bates College Instagram.

E_131114_Sarah_Crosby_Headshot_01

Nicholas M. Dow

  • 207-755-5968
  • ndow@bates.edu
  • Bates Communications Office
  • Assistant Sports Information Director
  • 141 Nichols Street, Room 205

Nick teams with SID Andy Walter to advance stories and information about Bobcat varsity athletics, with a special flair for social media.

E_140311_Nick_Dow_0003-web

Kent Fischer

  • 207-786-8248
  • kfischer@bates.edu
  • Bates Communications Office
  • Media Relations Director and Policy Adviser
  • 141 Nichols Street, Room 206

In addition to helping plan and lead the college’s overall communications strategy, Kent works with reporters from the web, print and TV to tell the Bates story.

13085835535_07d2567d92_b

Marc Glass ’88

  • 207-753-6908
  • mglass@bates.edu
  • Bates Communications Office
  • Project Manager and Market Analyst
  • 141 Nichols Street,

Marc teams with campus clients and colleagues to guide the planning, direction, coordination and timely completion of communications projects, including Bates Magazine, and works to evaluate effectiveness of same.


Doug Hubley

  • 207-786-6329
  • dhubley@bates.edu
  • Bates Communications Office
  • College Writer
  • 141 Nichols Street,

Doug writes and edits text for various Bates publications. He also edits listings of public events taking place at the college and handles certain media-relations duties, including publicity for arts events.


Phyllis Graber Jensen

  • 207-786-6327
  • pjensen@bates.edu
  • Bates Communications Office
  • Director of Photography and Video
  • for the Bates Communications Office
  • 141 Nichols Street,

Phyllis produces photography and video for college news and major marketing pieces, including web-based multimedia. She has strategic oversight of story-telling video projects.


Jenna Ligor ’11

  • 207-755-5961
  • jligor@bates.edu
  • Bates Communications Office
  • Visual Designer
  • 145 Nichols Street,
Jenna Ligor '11

Nicholas E. O’Brien

  • 207-786-6251
  • nobrien@bates.edu
  • Bates Communications Office
  • Digital Communications Lead
  • 141 Nichols Street,

Nicholas uses digital mediums to help the college continuously meet its communication and marketing goals.

Nicholas O'Brien

Victoria L. Stanton

  • 207-753-6907
  • vstanton@bates.edu
  • Bates Communications Office
  • Advancement Writer
  • 141 Nichols Street,

Victoria writes in support of alumni and parent engagement and annual giving.


Andy Walter

  • 207-786-6411
  • twalter@bates.edu
  • Bates Communications Office
  • Sports Information Director
  • 141 Nichols Street,

Andy oversees public information about Bates varsity athletics, including results, stats, team and player notes, the athletics website, game programs and recruiting publications.