Staff


Meg Kimmel

Associate Vice President for Communications
207-786-6328
mkimmel@bates.edu
141 Nichols Street

For issues large and small, Meg teams with offices across campus to define and advance the key messages that speak most clearly to and about the college to both internal and external audiences.


H. Jay Burns

Editorial Director and Editor, Bates Magazine
207-786-6331
jburns@bates.edu
141 Nichols Street

Jay is editor of Bates Magazine, editorial director for select Advancement and President’s Office projects and editor of BatesNews.


Tammy Roy Caron

Senior Visual Designer
207-786-6330
tcaron@bates.edu
145 Nichols Street

Tammy works with the director to develop and implement strategic marketing and communication plans for Advancement, Admission, President’s Office, Dean of Students and Dean of Faculty.


Jeremy Cluchey

Director of Creative Design
207-753-6947
jcluchey@bates.edu
145 Nichols Street

Jeremy leads the Creative Design team in helping the college tell its best story across platforms.

Jeremy Cluchey, director of creative design, Bates Communications Office

Barry Costa

Web Designer
207-786-8249
bcosta@bates.edu
145 Nichols Street

Barry helps create and maintain the visual presentation for the Bates brand and website.

bc-headshot-2014

Sarah Crosby

Photography/Video Fellow
207-786-6330
scrosby2@bates.edu
145 Nichols Street

Sarah teams with Phyllis in providing photography and video content for campus news, marketing and social media outlets. She also runs the Bates College Instagram.

E_131114_Sarah_Crosby_Headshot_01

Kent Fischer

Media Relations Director and Policy Adviser
207-786-8248
kfischer@bates.edu
141 Nichols Street, Room 206

In addition to helping plan and lead the college’s overall communications strategy, Kent works with reporters from the web, print and TV to tell the Bates story.

13085835535_07d2567d92_b

Marc Glass ’88

Project Manager and Market Analyst
207-753-6908
mglass@bates.edu
Bates Communications Office
145 Nichols Street

Marc teams with campus clients and colleagues to guide the planning, direction, coordination and timely completion of communications projects, including Bates Magazine, and works to evaluate effectiveness of same.


Doug Hubley

College Writer
207-786-6329
dhubley@bates.edu
141 Nichols Street

Doug writes and edits text for various Bates publications. He also edits listings of public events taking place at the college and handles certain media-relations duties, including publicity for arts events.


Phyllis Graber Jensen

Director of Photography and Video
207-786-6327
pjensen@bates.edu
141 Nichols Street

Phyllis produces photography and video for college news and major marketing pieces, including web-based multimedia. She has strategic oversight of story-telling video projects.


Grace Kendall

Assistant to the Associate Vice President for Communications
207-786-6330
gkendall@bates.edu
141 Nichols Street

Grace teams with Meg and the rest of the Bates Communications Office to tackle the projects, large and small, that keep communications at Bates running smoothly.


Jenna Ligor ’11

Visual Designer
207-755-5961
jligor@bates.edu
145 Nichols Street

As a member of the creative team, Jenna produces print and digital communications for a variety of audiences to advance the college’s messages and brand identity.

Jenna Ligor '11

Nicholas E. O’Brien

Senior Digital Analyst
207-786-6251
nobrien@bates.edu
145 Nichols Street, Room 204

Nicholas uses digital mediums to help the college continuously meet its communication and marketing goals.

Nicholas O'Brien

Andy Walter

Sports Information Director
207-786-6411
twalter@bates.edu
141 Nichols Street

Andy oversees public information about Bates varsity athletics, including results, stats, team and player notes, the athletics website, game programs and recruiting publications.