Archives for "Society and culture"
CEO of American Indian Higher Education Consortium to speak at Bates College

Friday, October 30, 2009 12:33 pm

Carrie Billy, president and chief executive officer of the American Indian Higher Education Consortium, discusses her work at 7 p.m. Monday, Nov. 2, in the Edmund S. Muskie Archives, Bates College, 70 Campus Ave. Sponsored by the Office of Multicultural Affairs, this event is open to the public at no cost. For more information, please call 207-786-8376. A dinner with Billy precedes the event at 5:15 p.m.; seating is limited and by RSVP only. For more information, contact ttaylor@bates.edu.

Global Lens series continues with Kazakh film Song from the Southern Seas

Thursday, October 29, 2009 12:21 pm

The Global Lens film series at Bates College continues with "Song from the Southern Seas," by Kazakhstani director Marat Sarulu, in 8 p.m. showings on Friday, Nov. 6, and Sunday, Nov. 8, in Room 105, Olin Arts Center, 75 Russell St. Hosted by the Bates College Museum of Art, the series continues throughout the fall. Admission is $5. "Song from the Southern Seas" (80 min.) is in Russian with English subtitles.

Global Lens series continues with Iranian film Those Three

Thursday, October 29, 2009 12:06 pm

The Global Lens film series at Bates College continues with "Those Three," by Iranian director Naghi Nemati, in 8 p.m. showings on Friday, Nov. 13, and Sunday, Nov. 15, in Room 105, Olin Arts Center, 75 Russell St.

Global Lens film series concludes with Brazilian film Margarette's Feast

Tuesday, October 27, 2009 12:04 pm

The Global Lens film series at Bates College concludes with "Margarette's Feast", a film from Brazilian director Renato Falcão. The film will be shown at 8 p.m. on Friday, Dec.11, and Sunday, Dec. 13, in the Olin Arts Center, Room 105, 75 Russell St.

Huffington Post blogger Liz Neumark P'13 reviews Bates, Maine food

Thursday, October 8, 2009 10:23 am

Huffington Post blogger Liz Neumark P’13, sharing her splendid experience in Maine...

Award-winning Latino poet and gay activist to speak

Tuesday, October 6, 2009 10:27 am

Emanuel Xavier, an award-winning Latino poet, spoken word artist, author and activist, speaks at Bates College in observance of National Coming Out Day at 4:30 p.m., Thursday, Oct. 8, in Chase Hall Lounge, 56 Campus Ave.

Stonyfield Farm chairman to speak at Bates screening of 'Food, Inc.'

Tuesday, September 29, 2009 1:30 pm

A Bates College screening of the food-industry exposé "Food, Inc." will be followed by a question-and-answer session with the director of Bates Dining Services and with Gary Hirshberg, head of organic yogurt producer Stonyfield Farm.

Global Lens series continues with Brazilian film Mutum

Thursday, September 17, 2009 12:23 pm

The Global Lens series of films from around the world continues at Bates College with Mutum, by Brazilian director Sandra Kogut, in 8 p.m. showings on Friday, Sept. 25, and Sunday, Sept. 27, in the Olin Arts Center, Room 105, 75 Russell St. Hosted by the Bates College Museum of Art, the series continues on Fridays and Sundays throughout the fall. Admission is $5. Mutum is in Portuguese with English subtitles (86 mins.).

Native American leaders to discuss relationship between land, culture

Wednesday, September 16, 2009 3:26 pm

Members of three Native American tribes will discuss the hopes that Maine Indians have for their lands at 4:15 p.m. Monday, Sept. 21, in Chase Hall Lounge, 56 Campus Ave.

Global Lens film series presents I Am From Titov Veles

Monday, September 14, 2009 11:54 am

The 2009 Global Lens film series features the Macedonian film "I Am From Titov Veles" in showings at 8 p.m. Friday and Sunday, Sept. 18 and 20, in Room 105 of the Olin Arts Center, 75 Russell St. Hosted by the Bates College Museum of Art, the series continues on Fridays and Sundays at the same time and location throughout the fall. Admission is $5.

Load more