Inauguration Planning Committees


The Program Committee is responsible for developing the inauguration themes that reflect the college’s mission and values and that are consistent with President Jenkins’ vision. This committee will honor the traditions of past inaugurations and, through substance and form, support new ideas our new president may wish to highlight. The committee is responsible for planning the installation ceremony program as well as developing the list of keynote speakers and panels. 

  • Brittany Longsdorf, Multifaith Chaplain (Co-Chair)
  • Charles Nero, Benjamin E. Mays ’20 Distinguished Professor of Rhetoric, Film, and Screen Studies and Africana (Co-Chair)
  • Leana Amáez, Vice President for Equity and Inclusion
  • Rebecca Anderson ’24
  • Jennifer Blanchard, Senior Writer and Director of Presidential Initiatives
  • H. Jay Burns, Editorial Director and Editor of Bates Magazine
  • Kristen Cloutier, Associate Director for Center Operations, Harward Center
  • Julisa De Los Santos, Director of Alumni and Parent Equity/Inclusion Programs
  • Eric Foushee, Vice President for College Advancement
  • Sandra Goff, Associate Professor of Economics
  • Sabeeh Khan ’24
  • Justin Moriarty, Technical Director for Theater and Dance
  • Tracey Reeves, Vice President for Communications and Marketing
  • Christine Schwartz, Associate Vice President for Dining, Conferences and Campus Events (ex officio)
  • Anelise Hanson Shrout, Assistant Professor of Digital and Computational Studies

Planning and Implementation

The Planning and Implementation Committee will oversee the planning, logistics, and coordination for the inauguration. This committee will work to ensure that the themes developed by the program committee are infused throughout all aspects of the inauguration, including the events and communications.

  • Christine Schwartz, Associate Vice President for Dining, Conferences and Campus Events (Chair)
  • Dhruv Chandra ’24
  • Aydan Gedeon-Hope ’25
  • Carly Hopkins, Associate Director of Annual Giving and Reunion
  • Amy Jefferson, Senior Associate Director of Annual Giving and Reunion
  • Cheryl Lacey, Director of Dining, Conferences and Campus Events
  • Scott Lehmann, Associate Director of Athletics
  • Michelle Lewis, Assistant Director of Conference and Campus Events
  • Edili Lopez, Assistant Dean of the Faculty for Academic Programs
  • Kirsten Marjerison, Director of Design Services
  • Nora Molloy, Assistant to the Vice President for Campus Life
  • Nicholas O’Brien, Director of Digital Marketing
  • Ainsley Parent, Assistant Director of Donor Relations
  • Brenda Pelletier, Associate Director of Conference and Campus Events
  • Jay Phillips, Director of Facility Services Operations
  • Claire Schmoll, Executive Assistant to the President and Coordinator of the Board of Trustees
  • Joe Spir Rechani, Assistant Dean of Admission
  • Kim Trauceniek, Senior Associate Dean of Students