Admission Team

We look forward to connecting, whether you have a specific question or simply want to say hello! To browse by state or global region, check out this website.

Admission Deans and Counselors

Scott Alexander

Senior Associate Dean of Admission & Director of Strategic Planning and International Enrollment

salexan2@bates.edu

Alaska; Hawaii; Massachusetts (Boston, Cambridge)

East Asia; South Asia


Caroline Berlin

Senior Assistant Dean of Admission, Communications and Marketing Manager

cberlin@bates.edu

Alabama; Arkansas; District of Columbia (DC); Louisiana; Massachusetts (Lowell, Concord, Wellesley); Mississippi; Oklahoma; Texas (Beaumont, Port Arthur, Central Gulf Coast, Houston, Galveston, East Harris County)

Western Africa


Admission head and shoulder portraitsAudrey BurnsAdmissionAssistant Dean of AdmissionLindholm House

Audrey Burns ’17

Senior Assistant Dean of Admission, Campus Visitor Experience Manager

aburns3@bates.edu

Iowa; Kansas; Missouri; Nebraska; New York (Brooklyn, Staten Island, Westchester County); Vermont

Europe


Romario Castro

Admission Counselor

rcastro2@bates.edu

New Hampshire; New Jersey (Middlesex, Monmouth, Somerset, and Mercer Counties, Northern New Jersey); Texas (Amarillo, El Paso, Austin, Waco, South Valley, San Antonio, Dallas-Fort Worth)


Diana DeJesus

Senior Assistant Dean of Admission

ddejesus@bates.edu

Arizona; California (Glendale, Pasadena, Long Beach, Covina, Orange County, San Diego, South Central Valley); Massachusetts (Milton, Lexington, Waltham); New Mexico

Northern Africa; Middle East


Tyler Lussier

Senior Associate Dean of Admission & Director of Outreach and Recruitment

tlussier@bates.edu

California (Marin, Northern California, East Bay, Peninsula, North Central Valley); Colorado; Connecticut; Idaho; Montana; Nevada; Utah; Wyoming

South East Asia


Admission Counselor Alec Morrissey photographed on July 14, 2021.

Alec Morrissey

Admission Counselor

amorriss@bates.edu

Indiana; Ohio; Massachusetts (Berkshire, Franklin, and Hampshire Counties); Michigan; Minnesota; New York (Western, Central, Long Island); North Dakota; South Dakota; Wisconsin


Jared H. Rivers

Senior Associate Dean of Admission & Director of Access

jrivers@bates.edu

California (Los Angeles, Santa Barbara, San Fernando Valley); Illinois; Massachusetts (Essex County); New York (Bronx, Queens)

Central Asia


Photographs taken on the Quad on July 12, 2021. 

Ryan, Abby

aryan2@bates.edu

Admission Counselor
Admission
207-786-6014
Lindholm House, Room G1

Abby Ryan ’21

Admission Counselor

aryan2@bates.edu

Florida; Georgia; Kentucky; Massachusetts (Cape Cod, Bristol and Plymouth Counties); North Carolina; Rhode Island; South Carolina; Tennessee; Virginia; West Virginia


Johanna Farrar Seltzer ’03

Senior Associate Dean of Admission & Director of Selection and Staff Development

jseltzer@bates.edu

Maine; Oregon; Washington

Eastern and Southern Africa; Canada


Photographs taken on the Quad onJuly 8, 2021. 

Spir, Joe

jspir@bates.edu

Admission Counselor
Admission
207-786-6001
Lindholm House, Room 101

Joe Spir Rechani

Admission Counselor

jspir@bates.edu

Delaware; Maryland; Massachusetts (Fitchburg and Worcester); New Jersey (Burlington, Camden, Jersey Shore, Southern New Jersey); Pennsylvania; Puerto Rico

Caribbean; Central America; South America


Darryl Uy
Admission
Director of Admission

C. Darryl Uy

Director of Admission

duy@bates.edu

New York (Manhattan)

Australia; Oceania


Leigh headshot

Leigh A. Weisenburger

Vice President for Enrollment & Dean of Admission and Financial Aid

lweisenb@bates.edu


Office of Admission Staff

Shuja Masood headshot

Shuja Masood

Admission Data Analyst

smasood@bates.edu


Deborah Obptande

Admission Research Analyst and Information Systems Manager

dobptand@bates.edu


Torey Reny headshot

Torey Reny

Admission Office Assistant, Campus Visitor Experience

treny@bates.edu


Debbie Rioux

Admission Office Specialist

Margaret Galligan-Schmoll

Margaret Galligan-Schmoll

Director of Admission Operations

mgalliga@bates.edu


Laurie A. Dube Headshot

Laurie A. Dube

Admission Office Assistant, Coordinator of Alumni Admission Engagement

ldube@bates.edu


Sherry St.Amant headshot

Sherry St.Amant

Assistant to the Vice President for Enrollment and Dean of Admission & Financial Aid, Office Manager

sstamant@bates.edu