Committee on Environmental Responsibility

Given that all dimensions of campus life and operations have environmental ramifications, and that environmental problem solving presents myriad educational opportunities, the CER was set up to represent a broad cross section of the campus community, including students, faculty and staff.


Bates formed its first formal working group of faculty, staff, and students to address environmental concerns in 1990. For over a decade the ad hoc committee advocated for environmental stewardship to play a greater role in College affairs. In 2004, the group re-shaped itself into the Environmental Task Force and was asked to review and make recommendations for strengthening the college’s environmental standing. The task force recommended establishing a standing committee and hiring a full time Environmental Coordinator. As a result, in 2006 the college hired an Environmental Coordinator and in 2007 the Committee on Environmental Responsibility was formally legislated.


The Committee on Environmental Responsibility (CER) has the following charge: (1) to raise environmental awareness among all constituents of the college, (2) to keep abreast of research and developments that pertain to institutional sustainability, (3) to recommend policies for adoption by the college, in order to promote conservation, energy efficiency and sustainable use of resources, (4) to assess the environmental state of the college on a regular basis, and (5) to report to the faculty on its findings and activities.

Last updated July 6, 2022


Cheryl Lacey, Director of Dining Services

Christine Schwartz, Assistant Vice President for Dining, Conferences and Campus Events

Doug Ginevan, Assistant Vice President for Financial Planning

Cassidy Meyer ’25, Student Environmental Coalition Rep

Jay Phillips, Director, Facility Services Operations

Sydney Schuster ’25, Student Environmental Coalition Rep

James Morrison, Director of Health and Safety

Lisa Gilson, Asst. Professor of Politics

Fatou Sanogo, Asst. Professor of Mathematics

Mary Pols, Media Relations Specialist

Matt Thomas, Information and Library Services Manager

Paul Farnsworth, Capital Planning Project Manager

Phil Dostie, Environmental GeoChemistry Lab

Sandra Goff, Professor of Economics, CER Chair

Tom Twist, Sustainability Manager

Ex Officio:                                                                                
Garry W. Jenkins President  

Geoff Swift Vice President for Finance & Administration, Treasurer