Most awards given to students are voted on by the combined faculty and staff at a faculty meeting close to graduation.  The Ellen Seeling Design Fellowship Award is the one exception, and is usually awarded to a rising senior student.

Departmental Honors

Awarded each year to those qualified members of the senior class who  undertake and satisfactorily complete a program of independent study within their major program or department.

The Dale Hatch Award 

Given annually to the graduating senior who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and service for four years in the Robinson Players. The decision is made by an anonymous vote by the Board Members of the student run theater group.

The Senseney Memorial Award 

Given to graduating student or students who have shown outstanding creative ability and promise in writing and/or the dramatic arts. Created by the friends of William Stewart Senseney, Class of 1949, a member of the Robinson Players. The decision is made by the faculty members of both English and Theater and Dance departments. 

The Marcy Plavin Dance Award

Awarded annually to the seniors who have shown exceptional dedication to and passion for dance. Created in 2000 by the alumni of the Bates College Modern Dance Company to honor their friend and mentor, Marcy Plavin, Lecturer Emerita in Dance and founding director of the Bates Dance program. 

The Ellen Seeling Design Fellowship 

Awarded annually to a rising senior with a design focus. The award is to fund research in preparation for that student’s thesis experience. Named for Ellen Seeling, Bates Professor of Design from 1996 – 2003.