BCO Staff

Sean T. Findlen

sfindlen@bates.edu

Chief Communications Officer
Bates Communications Office

Lane Hall, Room 110

Sean leads the college’s overarching communications strategy and outreach activities. Working with faculty, staff, and students to capture the richness of the Bates experience, he directs all efforts to tell the Bates story to diverse audiences around the world.

H. Jay Burns, Bates Magazine editor and editorial director, Bates Communications Office.
H. Jay Burns, Bates Magazine editor and editorial director, Bates Communications Office.

H. Jay Burns Jr.

jburns@bates.edu

Editorial Director and Bates Magazine Editor
Bates Communications Office
207-786-6331
Lane Hall, Room 025H

Jay is BCO’s editorial director, overseeing the office’s storytelling work as editor of Bates Magazine and the weekly email BatesNews.

Head and shoulder portraitsKirsten Lamiette, Bates Communications OfficeAssistant to the Chief Communications Officer and Office Coordinator
Head and shoulder portraits Kirsten Lamiette, Bates Communications Office Assistant to the Chief Communications Officer and Office Coordinator

Kirsten M. Burns

kburns@bates.edu

Assistant to the Chief Communications Officer and Office Coordinator
Bates Communications Office
207-786-6330
Lane Hall, Room 110

Tammy Caron

tcaron@bates.edu

Senior Visual Designer
Bates Communications Office
207-786-6250
Lane Hall, Room 025J

Tammy helps campus clients achieve their communications goals through visual designs that support the Bates brand

Digital Content Specialist David Ernst
Digital Content Specialist David Ernst

David A. Ernst

dernst@bates.edu

Assistant Director of Digital Marketing
Bates Communications Office
207-753-6947
Lane Hall, Room 025F

David helps create and share content designed for digital and social media and coordinates the college’s overall social media strategy.

Phyllis Graber Jensen

pjensen@bates.edu

Director of Photography and Video for the Bates Communications Office
Bates Communications Office
207-786-6327
Lane Hall, Room 007E

Phyllis produces photography and video for college news and major marketing pieces, including multimedia productions. She has strategic oversight of story-telling video projects.

Grace A. Kendall

gkendall@bates.edu

Director of Design Services
Bates Communications Office
207-753-6908
Lane Hall, Room 025L

Grace works with clients and the BCO team to facilitate a smooth process for the college’s many print and digital projects.

Marjerison, Kirsten S.207-755-5961kmarjeri@bates.eduBates Communications OfficeVisual Designer145 Nichols Street
Marjerison, Kirsten S. 207-755-5961 kmarjeri@bates.edu Bates Communications Office Visual Designer 145 Nichols Street

Kirsten S. Marjerison

kmarjeri@bates.edu

Visual Designer
Bates Communications Office
207-755-5961
Lane Hall, Room 025K

Kirsten strives to translate the college’s communication needs through impactful, clear, and engaging design.

Aaron D. Morse

Pronouns:he/him/his

amorse@bates.edu

Assistant Sports Information Director
Bates Communications Office
207-755-5968
Lane Hall, Room 025D

Aaron Morse supports Bates’ 31 varsity sports through web, social media, and video efforts. He hosts the weekly Bates Bobcast podcast covering the week in Bates Athletics.

Nicholas O'Brien - Director of Digital Communications - Bates College

Nicholas E. O’Brien

nobrien@bates.edu

Director of Digital Communications
Bates Communications Office
207-786-6251
Lane Hall, Room 025G

Nicholas uses digital mediums to help the college continuously meet its communication and marketing goals.

Olivia Orr Headshot

Olivia H. Orr

Pronouns:she/her/hers

oorr@bates.edu

Web Designer
Bates Communications Office
207-786-8249
Lane Hall, Room 025M

Jacob J. Paris

jparis@bates.edu

Senior Web Developer/ Designer
Information & Library Services
207-786-8229
Pettigrew Hall, Room 212

Jake develops web experiences and user interfaces for people across the Bates spectrum.

Mary F. Pols

mpols@bates.edu

Media Relations Specialist
Bates Communications Office
207-786-8248
Lane Hall

Theophil J. Syslo

tsyslo@bates.edu

Multimedia Producer
Bates Communications Office
207-786-6330
Lane Hall, Room 007C

Through photography and video, Theo supports communications strategies that celebrate Bates moments, people, and life.

Andy Walter

twalter@bates.edu

Sports Information Director
Bates Communications Office
207-786-6411
Lane Hall, Room 025E

Andy oversees public information about Bates varsity athletics, including results, stats, team, and player notes, the Bates Athletics website, game programs, and recruiting publications