BCO Staff

Sean T. Findlen

Chief Communications Officer
207-786-6330
communications@bates.edu
141 Nichols Street

Sean leads the college’s overarching communications strategy and outreach activities. Working with faculty, staff, and students to capture the richness of the Bates experience, he directs all efforts to tell the Bates story to diverse audiences around the world.

Findlen-MG_2662-WEB

H. Jay Burns

Editorial Director and Editor, Bates Magazine
207-786-6331
jburns@bates.edu
141 Nichols Street

Jay is BCO’s editorial director, overseeing the office’s storytelling work as editor of Bates Magazine and the weekly email BatesNews.

Tammy Roy Caron

Senior Visual Designer
207-786-6250
tcaron@bates.edu
145 Nichols Street

Tammy helps campus clients achieve their communications goals through visual designs that support the Bates brand.

David Ernst

Digital Content Specialist
207-753-6947
dernst@bates.edu
145 Nichols Street

David helps create and share content designed for digital and social media and coordinates the college’s overall social media strategy.

Digital Content Specialist David Ernst

Doug Hubley

News Writer
207-786-6329
dhubley@bates.edu
141 Nichols Street

Doug writes and edits text for Bates publications, including the Campus Construction Updates. He also edits listings of public events taking place at the college and handles certain media relations duties, including publicity for arts events.

Phyllis Graber Jensen

Director of Photography and Video
207-786-6327
pjensen@bates.edu
141 Nichols Street

Phyllis produces photography and video for college news and major marketing pieces, including multimedia productions. She has strategic oversight of story-telling video projects.

Marjorie Hall

Director of Strategic Communications
207-786-8248
mhall@bates.edu
141 Nichols Street

Marjorie manages strategic development and execution of internal and external communication efforts from media relations and marketing to issues management and dynamic content strategy.

 

Grace Kendall

Director of Design Services
207-753-6908
gkendall@bates.edu
145 Nichols Street

Grace works with clients and the BCO team to facilitate a smooth process for the college’s many print and digital projects.

Kirsten Lamiette

Assistant to the Chief Communications Officer and Office Coordinator
207-786-6330
klamiett@bates.edu
141 Nichols Street

Kirsten Marjerison

Visual Designer
207-755-5961
kmarjeri@bates.edu
145 Nichols Street

Kirsten strives to translate the college’s communication needs through impactful, clear, and engaging design.

Emily M. McConville

News Writer
207-753-6907
emcconvi@bates.edu
141 Nichols Street, Room 203

 

Aaron D. Morse

Assistant Sports Information Director
207-755-5966
amorse@bates.edu
141 Nichols Street

Aaron Morse supports Bates’ 31 varsity sports through web, social media, and video efforts. He hosts the weekly Bates Bobcast podcast covering the week in Bates Athletics.

Nicholas E. O’Brien

Director, Digital Communications
207-786-6251
nobrien@bates.edu
145 Nichols Street

Nicholas uses digital mediums to help the college continuously meet its communication and marketing goals.

Nicholas E. OBrien - Senior Digital Analyst - Bates College

Olivia H. Orr

Web Designer
207-786-8249
oorr@bates.edu
145 Nichols Street

Olivia Orr Headshot

Jake Paris

Senior Web Developer/ Designer
207-786-8229
jparis@bates.edu
Pettigrew Hall, Room 212 / 145 Nichols Street, Room 205

Jake develops web experiences and user interfaces for people across the Bates spectrum.

Jake-w-Guitar

Theophil Syslo

Multimedia Specialist
207-755-5967
tsyslo@bates.edu

Through photography and video, Theo supports communications strategies that celebrate Bates moments, people, and life.

Andy Walter

Sports Information Director
207-786-6411
twalter@bates.edu
141 Nichols Street

Andy oversees public information about Bates varsity athletics, including results, stats, team, and player notes, the Bates Athletics website, game programs, and recruiting publications.