Departmental News


APA Culture of Service Award

Our department is thrilled to receive a 2012 Culture of Service Award from the American Psychological Association.  The award “recognizes departments that consistently support service by faculty at all levels, encourages students to engage in service and demonstrate a commitment to service in the psychological sciences.”

Here is the citation from the APA website:

For an inspiring record of service to the discipline. The Department of Psychology at Bates College has a long tradition of service to the discipline through its support of faculty taking leadership roles in professional organizations, editing journals, reviewing research proposals, mentoring students and colleagues, advocating for psychological science’s best interests in public policy and promoting the value of psychological science in the public eye. The Department’s commitment to student research, collaborative study, career guidance and nurturing a culture of reflection on psychological science is impressive. The Department of Psychology at Bates College is an outstanding model of scholarship, mentoring, teaching and service to its students and surrounding community.

Comings & Goings

Jesse Bengson will be joining the faculty as visiting assistant professor in Fall 2013.  Prof. Bengson comes to us from his recent post-doc at University of California: Davis and will be teaching Principles of Psychology and courses in the biological and health area.

Professor Kathy Low will serve as an associate dean of the faculty. Although she will supervise some thesis students, she will be released from all other teaching responsibilities.

We’re proud to announce that the psychology department received the 2012 Culture of Service Award from the American Psychological Association. The APA noted that our “department exemplifies what a culture of service to the discipline should be.” We are truly honored to have our commitment to service recognized by the largest scientific and professional organization representing psychology.

Student Awards

We are pleased to announce the following award recipients for the Class of 2012:

Robert S. Moyer Prize in Experimental Psychology

Meredith Greene

(View the abstract for her project here.)

Richard V. Wagner Prize in Psychology

Alexa Hiley

Check out the Student Awards Archive for winners from previous years!

  • Contact Us