Faculty tenure appointments, promotions take effect in August

Bates faculty members in a range of fields will receive tenure or promotions effective Aug. 1, 2012.

The appointments were recommended by the Faculty Committee on Personnel; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculty Pamela J. Baker, and Interim President Nancy J. Cable. The recommendations were approved by the Bates Board of Trustees earlier this year.

Baker said, “All these colleagues are outstanding scholars and teachers who have made many contributions to knowledge in their fields and to the education of our students. We look forward to many more years of their doing so here at Bates.”

Tenure appointments:

Myron M. Beasley
Associate Professor of African American Studies and American Cultural Studies

Dale E. Chapman
Associate Professor of Music

Sue E. Houchins
Associate Professor of African American Studies

Nancy S. Koven
Associate Professor of Psychology


Todd A. Kahan
Professor of Psychology

Michael E. Reidy
Senior Lecturer in Theater
Managing Director of Theater and Dance