Theater and Dance Season

Admission is free, with a suggested $5 donation, except where noted.

Tickets to all performances are available through the Bates Theater and Dance EventBrite page, linked below.

batestheateranddance.eventbrite.com • 207-786-6161

September

24 Hour Musical
By The Robinson Players, Bates College’s only student-run theater organization.

Saturday, September 14, 8am-11:30pm
-Schaeffer Theatre-

For more information: www.batesrobplayers.com

October

Bates’ Fall Dance Concert brings together a wide range of styles, representing choreographers from across the country and here in Maine, in performances at 5 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 10; 2 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 11; and 7:30 p.m. Monday, Nov. 12.The performances take place in Schaeffer Theatre. This dress rehearsal was held on Friday, Nov. 9, 2012. On the program for the three performances, in order of dress rehearsal: "Subverting Normal: Ensemble #2," choregraphed by Tiffany Rhynard in collaboration with the dancers; The 1953 piece “Tensile Involvement” by modern-dance master Alwin Nikolais; "Rasta Is a Conception," choreographed by Debi Irons; "Shadow Game," choreographed and performed by Rachel Boggia; "Rhythm-N-Roots," choreographed by Robin Sanders New hip hop and modern choreography by guest artists Robin Sanders of San Antonio, Texas, and Tiffany Rhynard of Gainesville, Fla.; Students in Debi Irons’ advanced Jazz Repertory class; A videodance and a solo by Assistant Professor of Dance Rachel Boggia.

Back to Bates Dance Concert

Previews of work in progress by Chicago based choreographer Mark Jeffery, Prof. Carol Dilley, and student works.

Saturday, October 5, 12pm
Sunday, October 6, 12pm
-Schaeffer Theatre-

Click Here To Reserve Tickets

An Independent Study in Directing:

The Zoo Story
Written by: Edward Albee, Directed by: Nick Longo ’21

Jerry, consumed in loneliness, strikes up a conversation with Peter on a Central Park bench. The conversation does not go well. By one of America’s most compelling playwrights.

Friday, October 25, 7:30pm
Saturday, October 26, 5pm
Sunday, October 27, 2pm
-Black Box Theater-

Love/Sick
By: John Cariani

The book of love gets a hilarious rewrite in Love/Sick, a string of ten short plays combining loss and laughter, set in a comic world where heartbreak is more than a figure of speech. By the author of Almost, Maine. Directed by Dana Prof Martin Andrucki.

Thursday, October 31, 7:30pm
Friday, November 1, 7:30pm
Saturday, November 2, 5pm
Sunday, November 3, 2pm
Monday, November 4, 7:30pm
-Gannett Theater-

Click Here To Reserve Tickets

 

November

Love/Sick
By: John Cariani

The book of love gets a hilarious rewrite in Love/Sick, a string of ten short plays combining loss and laughter, set in a comic world where heartbreak is more than a figure of speech. By the author of Almost, Maine. Directed by Dana Prof Martin Andrucki.

Thursday, October 31, 7:30pm
Friday, November 1, 7:30pm
Saturday, November 2, 5pm
Sunday, November 3, 2pm
Monday, November 4, 7:30pm
-Gannett Theater-

Click Here To Reserve Tickets

 

Dance Thesis
Saturday, November 9, 7:30pm
Sunday, November 10, 2pm & 7:30pm
-Gannett Theater-


photo by Leonard Plavin

photo by Leonard Plavin

Marcy Plavin Fall Concert
Bates Dance Department

Featuring works by guest choreographers by Mark Jeffery, Kimberly Bartosik, and Tania Isaac during their residencies this fall, as well as Visiting Assistant Professor of Dance Julie Fox and other Bates faculty.

Saturday, November 16, 5pm
Sunday, November 17, 2pm
Monday, November 18, 7:30pm
-Schaeffer Theatre-

Click Here To Reserve Tickets

December

Elevator Girl
By: Donna Hoke

Fact, fantasy and fiction blur together in this social-media-driven rom-com. Directed by Ellie Yguico ’20.

Thursday, December 5, 7:30pm
Friday, December 6, 7:30pm
Saturday, December 7, 5pm
Sunday, December 8, 2pm & 7:30pm
-Gannett Theater-

January

Sankofa

Culminating the college’s observance of Martin Luther King Jr. Day, students use music, dance, poetry, and prose to survey the vast landscape of the African Diaspora, and their own diverse backgrounds.

Monday, January 20, 7:30pm
-Schaeffer Theatre-

 

Sangia Asia

Friday, January 31, 7:30pm
-Schaeffer Theatre-

February

The Rob Players Musical
By The Robinson Players, Bates College’s only student-run theater organization.

Friday, February 7, 7:30pm
Saturday, February 8, 5pm
Sunday, February 9, 2pm
-Gannett Theater-

For more information: www.batesrobplayers.com

 

F.A.B. Dance Showcase at the Gendron Franco Center

46 Cedar Street, Lewiston
For Tickets call: 207-689-2000 or visit

http://www.francocenter.org/events-calendar/performances/

March

Stupid Fucking Bird
By: Aaron Posner

“The Seagull” on steroids: Con hates his mother. And Nina, the girl he adores, lusts after his mother’s lover. Mix equal parts ambition, sex, and alcohol, and what you get is a recipe for madness. Directed by Asst. Prof Tim Dugan.

Thursday, March 5, 7:30pm
Friday, March 6, 7:30pm
Saturday, March 7, 5pm
Sunday, March 8, 2pm
Monday, March 9, 7:30pm
-Schaeffer Theatre-

 

An Independent Study in Directing:

Gene
Written by: Ron Hirsen, Directed by: Deon Custard ’21

Down to his last few bucks, one-time actor Ozzie desperately tries to connect with his old friend Eugene O’Neil, hoping to turn his luck around.

Friday, March 13, 7:30pm
Saturday, March 14, 5pm
Sunday, March 15, 2pm
-Black Box Theater-

 

The Gap
By: Emma Goidel

Directed by Allie Greene ’20

Thursday, March 26, 7:30pm
Friday, March 27, 7:30pm
Saturday, March 28, 5pm
Sunday, March 29, 2pm
Monday, March 30, 7:30pm
-Gannett Theater-

 

April

As part of a three-day modern dance reunion held May1-3 to celebrate the legacy and vision of Marcy Plavin, founder of the Bates Dance Company, and 46 years of the Bates Modern Dance Company, alumni dancers, joined by current dance students, present "The Art of Living Through Dance" on Saturday, May 2, at 8 p.m in Schaeffer Theatre.

Spring Dance Concert

Friday, April 3, 7:30pm
Saturday, April 4, 5pm
Sunday, April 5, 2pm
Monday, April 6, 7:30pm
-Schaeffer Theatre-

The focus is on student choreography and design work.

Program A: Friday and Sunday.

Program B: Saturday and Monday.

May