Theater and Dance Season


September

Theater and Dance Open House
Tuesday, September 6 at 2:00pm
Schaeffer Theatre

Join us in celebrating a new year and a new season!

 

Arts Tour
Tuesday, September 6 at 4:00pm
Departing from Schaeffer lobby

Join us for a guided tour of the arts spaces on campus to learn more about the variety of opportunities available to you to engage with arts at Bates.

 

Tense Vagina: an actual diagnosis
Created and performed by Sara Juli
Friday, September 23 at 8:00pm
Gannett Theater

Created and performed by Sara Juli, Tense Vagina: an actual diagnosis is about motherhood- its beauty, challenges, isolation, comedy and influence on the human experience.

October

Tomorrow in the Battle by Kieron Barry
Directed by Sally Wood
Thurs. Oct. 6, Fri. Oct. 7, Sat. Oct. 8, Sun. Oct. 9, and Mon. Oct. 10 at 7:30pm
Black Box Theater

Playwright Kieron Barry throws us into an interwoven labyrinth of infidelity, honor, and power. Performed in the intimacy of Black Box Theater, Tomorrow in the Battle confronts the consequences of choices made.

 

Back to Bates Weekend Dance Concert
Sat. Oct. 8 and Sun. Oct. 9 at 12 noon
Schaeffer Theatre

An afternoon of music, theater, and dance by students, faculty, and guest artists.

November

Sherlock Holmes: The Final Adventure adapted by Steven Dietz, based on the original 1899 play by William Gillette and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Directed by Katie Van Patten ’17
Thurs. Nov. 3, Fri. Nov. 4, and Mon. Nov. 7 at 7:30pm; Sat. Nov. 5 at 5:00pm; Sun. Nov. 6 at 2:00pm
Gannett Theater

Sherlock Holmes like you’ve never seen him before; a retelling of Arthur Conan Doyle’s most well know stories featuring Holmes’s greatest adversaries — Professor Moriarty and Irene Adler.

December

Fall Dance Concert
Sat. Dec. 3 at 5:00pm; Sun. Dec. 4 at 2:00pm; Mon. Dec. 5 at 7:30pm
Schaeffer Theatre

Annual fall concert featuring repertory pieces by visiting guest artists Claudia Lavista and Omar Carrum, Sean Dorsey, and Takehiro Ueyama in collaboration with Hideki Kato and the Music Department, and Bates Visiting Assistant Professor Julie Fox.

 

The Pillowman by Martin McDonagh
Directed by Sam Wheeler ’17
Thurs. Dec. 8, Fri. Dec. 9, and Mon. Dec. 12 at 7:30pm; Sat. Dec. 10 at 5:00pm; Sun. Dec. 11 at 2:00pm
Gannett Theater

A box of unpublished stories bearing a striking resemblance to several recent murders in town brings the writer and his brother in for interrogation. Not suitable for young children.

January

Theater and Dance Winter Huddle
Monday, January 9 at 7:00pm
Gannett Theater

Welcome back for winter semester! Join us for updates on upcoming auditions, guest artists, workshops and so much more.

 

Theater Auditions
Tuesday, January 10 from 4:00-6:00pm
Wednesday, January 11 from 6:30-8:30pm
Gannett Theater

Come audition for A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare, directed by Prof. Martin Andrucki and On Emotion by Mick Gordon and Paul Broks, directed by Colby Harrison ’17.

February

Arts Crawl
Fri. Feb. 3 from 4:00-7:00pm
More details coming soon!

 

FAB 12th Annual Winter Dance Showcase
Sat. Feb. 11 at 7:30pm
Franco Center

In the 12th annual edition of FAB, Bates College and the Franco Center collaborate to present performances by artists from the Maine dance community and beyond.

March

A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare
Directed by Martin Andrucki
Thurs. March 9, Fri. March 10, and Mon. March 13 at 7:30pm; Sat. March 11 at 5:00pm; Sun. March 12 at 2:00pm
Schaeffer Theatre

Two lovers elope into the forest; two others chase them. A love quadrangle ensues. Quarreling fairies get involved.  Magic potions drive people mad.  Meanwhile, a man rehearsing a bad play gets an ass’s head planted on his shoulders.  Then everybody falls asleep, wakes up, and goes to a wedding.  All in a midsummer night’s work for Shakespeare.  “One of the most surefire comedies ever written.” (The New York Times.)

 

Senior Dance Thesis
March 17 – 19 at 7:30pm
Black Box Theater

An original work by Laura Pietropaoli ‘17 created in collaboration with the performers

 

On Emotion by Mick Gordon and Paul Broks
Directed by Colby Harrison ’17
Thurs. March 23, Fri. March 24, and Mon. March 27 at 7:30pm; Sat. March 25 and Sun. March 26 at 2:00pm
Gannett Theater

Are we simply puppets of our emotions? That’s the central question in this contemporary play combining science and art to gain a deeper understanding of human’s motives, desires and actions. For mature audiences only.

 

My America Too
Directed by Justin Moriarty
Produced by Justin Moriarty and Kati Vecsey
March 31 at 4:45pm (part of the 2017 Mount David Summit)
Benjamin Mays Center

A series of short plays exploring racially charged violence in the U.S. and the Black Lives Matter Movement

 

Spring Dance Concert
Program A: Fri. March 31 at 7:30pm and Sun. April 2 at 2:00pm
Program B: Sat. April 1 at 5:00pm and Mon. April 3 at 7:30pm
Schaeffer Theatre

Two distinct concerts featuring a senior thesis project in choreography by Mallory Cohen ‘17, as well as final projects by DANC 251 Dance Composition and DANC 351 Advanced Composition Seminar. Program A: Friday/Sunday.  Program B: Saturday/Monday.

April

Spring Dance Concert
Program A: Fri. March 31 at 7:30pm and Sun. April 2 at 2:00pm
Program B: Sat. April 1 at 5:00pm and Mon. April 3 at 7:30pm
Schaeffer Theatre

Two distinct concerts featuring a senior thesis project in choreography by Mallory Cohen ‘17, as well as final projects by DANC 251 Dance Composition and DANC 351 Advanced Composition Seminar. Program A: Friday/Sunday.  Program B: Saturday/Monday.

 

curiouser and curiouser
April 7, 8, 9 at 7:00pm
Black Box Theater

An original devised performance conceived and directed by Chaesong Kim  ‘18 in collaboration with the performers

May

L/A in L-A
directed by Peter Richards
May 19 and 20 at 7:30pm
May 21 at 5:00pm
Gannett Theater

A devised workshop based on the Liston/Ali bout of 1965, created and performed by Catherine Morse ’17, Colby Harrison ’17, & Samuel Hersh ’18.

 


Tickets are free admission with a suggested $5 donation, except where noted. batestheateranddance.eventbrite.com • 207-786-6161