Theater and Dance Season

September

 

October

 

Back to Bates Dance Concert

Saturday, October 6, 12pm
Sunday, October 7, 12pm
-Schaeffer Theater-
Featuring choreography from students and professional artists-in-residence James Graham and Yanira Castro.

 

Eggs
By Florence Keith-Roach
Friday, October 12, 7:30pm
Saturday, October 13, 5pm
Sunday, October 14, 2pm & 7:30pm
-Black Box Theater-
In fulfillment of an independent study, Alison Greene ’20 directs this dark two-character comedy about, as the playwright says, “female friendship, fertility, and freaking out.”

 

November

Eurydice
Adaptation by Sarah Ruhl

Thursday, November 1, 7:30pm
Friday, November 2, 7:30pm
Saturday, November 3, 5pm
Sunday, November 4, 2pm
Monday, November 5, 7:30pm
-Schaeffer Theater-

When Eurydice dies, the heartbroken Orpheus follows her to Hades and persuades
the powers-that-be to return her to life – on one condition.
The New York Times called Sarah Ruhl’s 2003 adaptation of the myth an “inexpressibly
moving theatrical fable about love, loss and the pain of memory.”
Dana Professor of Theater Martin Andrucki directs.

Click Here To Reserve Tickets

Dance Thesis
Johanna Hayes ’19

Wednesday, November 14, 7:30pm
Thursday, November 15, 7:30pm
-Gannett Theater-

Johanna Hayes presents her senior thesis in Dance.

December

 

Plavin Fall Dance Concert
Bates Dance Department
Saturday, December 1, 5pm
Sunday, December 2, 2pm
Monday, December 3, 7:30pm
-Schaeffer Theater-
Featuring work by professional choreographers James Graham, Yanira Castro, and Nora Chipaumire during their residencies this fall, as well as Visiting Assistant Professor of Dance Julie Fox.

Click Here To Reserve Tickets

 

Voice and Speech Performance
Students of  Kati Vecsey’s THEA 263 class present the culmination of their semester’s work.

 

 

January

 

February

March

Thursday March 8 @ 7:30pm
Friday March 9 @ 7:30pm
Saturday March 10 @ 5pm
Sunday March 11 @ 2pm
Monday March 12 @7:30pm
Angels in America, Part I: Millennium Approaches by Tony Kushner
Directed By Tim Dugan in Schaeffer Theatre
America in the mid-1980s.  A network of friends, lovers, and strangers try to navigate the world during the height of the AIDS epidemic.  Considered one of the most important and thrilling works of American art in the twentieth century, this Tony Award and Pulitzer Prize-winning play explores sexuality, politics, religion, power, and justice.

Friday March 16 @ 7:30pm
Saturday March 17 @ 7:30pm
Sunday March 18 @ 7:30pm
Dry Land by Ruby Rae Spiegel
Two girls struggle to stay afloat amidst the pressures and expectations of society. Set in a present day Florida high school, this play explores the harsh reality of young adulthood, abortion, female friendship.
Rebecca Berger ‘19
Independent Study in directing
Black Box Theater

Thursday March 22 @ 7:30pm
Friday March 23 @ 7:30pm
Saturday March 24 @ 5pm
Sunday March 25 @ 2pm
Monday March 26 @7:30pm
엄마, (Dear Mom,)
An open letter to mom in the form of multimedia solo performance
Chaesong Kim ‘18
Thesis in directing
Gannett Theater

Friday March 30 @ 7:30pm
Saturday March 31 @ 5pm
Sunday April 1 @ 2pm
Monday April 2 @ 7:30pm
Spring Dance Concert
Bates Modern Dance Company
Student choreographers share their final projects.
Schaeffer Theatre

 

April

Friday March 30 @7:30pm
Saturday March 31 @ 5pm
Sunday April 1 @ 2pm
Monday April 2 @ 7:30pm
Spring Dance Concert
Bates Modern Dance Company
Student choreographers share their final projects.
Schaeffer Theatre

Wednesday April 4 (time TBA)
Voice and Speech
Students from Kati Vecsey’s winter Voice and Speech course share their final project.
Gannett Theater

Thursday April 5
Directing Final Projects-An Evening of Scenes @ 7pm
Students in Tim Dugan’s Directing course share their final project
Refreshments provided.

May

Wednesday May 23 @ 5pm
Short Term Dance Variety Show
Dance Club
Students with the Bates Dance Club share their work.
Schaeffer Theatre


Tickets are free admission with a suggested $5 donation, except where noted. batestheateranddance.eventbrite.com • 207-786-6161