background

Community Volunteer Opportunities

Mentoring:

Big Brothers Big Sisters offers one-on-one weekly matches with elementary school kids in local schools.  It also has a campus-based program, Cats and Cubs, that meets every other Sunday.  Contact: Gretchen Kaija (gkaija@bates.edu)

Tutoring and Enrichment Programs

Hillview After-School—Mondays and Wednesdays, 3-5; contact Emily Diepenbrock (ediepenb@bates.edu)

Tree Street Youth—Mondays through Thursdays, 2-6; Friday 2-4; contact Julia Gordon (jgordon@bates.edu)

Lewiston Public Library— Mondays through Thursdays, 3:30-5:30; contact Kat Brea (kbrea@bates.edu) or Jalen Baker (jbaker@bates.edu)

Project Storyboost— reading to kindergarteners during the school day; contact Brenna Callahan (bcallaha@bates.edu)

Let’s Get Ready—  SAT prep for high school students; M or W, 5-8 p.m.; contact Sean Keller or Mollie Corcoran, letsgetready.lewiston@gmail.com

English Language Learners

Adult Learning Center— contact Anne Kemper (akemper@lewistonpublicschools.org)

Somali Bantu Youth Association of Maine—preparation for citizenship testing; contact Rilwan Osman (rilwan@sbyam.org)

Food Accessibility

Trinity Soup Kitchen—serves meals 7 days a week; contact Erin Reed (trinitylewiston@gmail.com)

Lots to Gardens—community gardening and cooking classes; contact Lizzie Baird (ebaird@bates.edu)

Good Shepherd Food Bank—preparing food for distribution throughout the state; contact Shannon Coffin, 782-3554, x1158

Elderly/Younger Disabled

Blake Street Towers—promote social activities with elderly and younger disabled; contact Matt Gee (mgee@bates.edu)

Art Projects

ArtVan— mobile arts therapy with non-profits in Lewiston-Auburn.  Contact Julia Dunn (jdunn2@bates.edu)

Hospitals

St. Mary’s Regional Medical Center— contact Jenny Cowie; 777-8369; jcowie@stmarysmaine.com

Central Maine Medical Center—contact Sue Hedrich: 795-2472; hedricsu@cmhc.org

Other Programs (some of these require extensive training)

Safe Voices—domestic violence prevention program; contact Kim Preble at 795-6744; kpreble@safevoices.org

Advocates for Children— child abuse protection; parenting skill development; contact info@advocatesforchildren.net

New Beginnings—support for at-risk youth; Sarah Vazquez, sarah@newbeginmaine.org

Greater Androscoggin Humane Society—Sandy Graul, 783-2311, volunteer@gahumane.org

Sexual Assault Prevention and Response Services—Bridget Mancini, sacccs@sapars.org

BookReach—a volunteer reading program sponsored by the Lewiston and Auburn Public Libraries. Volunteers are matched with a local in-home daycare and go once a week to do a storytime.  One hour/week, one semester commitment.  Kara Reiman, bookreach@lewistonmaine.gov

Center for Wisdom’s Women—a sacred and safe place that supports and empowers women; Klara Tammany, cww@oxfordnetworks.net


  • Contact Us