Community Volunteer Opportunities

One-Time or Occasional Volunteer Opportunities

OneTime.

  • Seniors Plus is looking for Kitchen Helpers/Packers to assist with preparation of meals or packing of delivered meals at the Lewiston production kitchen, one or more days per week, Monday through Thursday mornings from 8:30 to 11 am. Contact Volunteer Services at SeniorsPlus by phone at 207-795-4010 or by email at volunteerservices@seniorsplus.org for
    more information.
  • New Beginnings is an organization that works with homeless youth ages 14-21 and is located only a block from campus. They welcome volunteers to help with meals, to organize and maintain a clothing closet, and to help with cleaning the building.  For more information, contact Ethan at ethan@newbeginmaine.org .
  • Blake Street Towers and Meadowview (Lewiston Housing Authority residences for low-income elderly and younger disabled) are happy to have volunteers plan social events–meals, game nights, performances, etc.; contact Cate Day (cday@bates.edu).
  • The Good Shepherd Food Bank prepares food for distribution throughout the state; contact Asher MacDonald (cmacdon2@bates.edu).

Ongoing or Sustained Volunteer Opportunities

BlakeStreetTowers

Mentoring Programs
  • Big Brothers Big Sisters—one-on-one weekly one-hour matches with Longley Elementary School students. Contact Marty Deschaines (mdeschai@bates.edu).
  • Montello Mentoring Program–one-on-one weekly one-hour matches with Montello Elementary School students. Contact Adam Blau (ablau@bates.edu).
Tutoring and Enrichment Programs
  • Hillview After-School—Mondays and Wednesdays, 3:15-4:45pm; contact Brie Wilson (bwilson@bates.edu).
  • Montello Book Buddies–reading to early-elementary-age children during the school day; contact George Steckel (gsteckel@bates.edu).
  • Tree Street Youth—Mondays through Thursdays, 2-6pm; Friday 2-4pm; contact volunteers.tsy@gmail.com.
  • Boys and Girls Club—after-school programming; contact Maura Moody (mmoody@bgcmaine.org).
  • Lewiston Public Library— Mondays through Thursdays, 3:15-5:15pm; contact Sam Findlen-Golden (sfindle2@bates.edu).
  • The Root Cellar–This is a faith-based organization that serves people in the downtown neighborhoods. Opportunities to help with adult English language classes, food pantry work, and afterschool children’s programming. Contact Joel Furrow at 207-782-3659.
English Language Learners
Food Accessibility
Elderly/Younger Disabled
  • Blake Street Towers—promote social activities with elderly and younger disabled; contact Cate Day (cday@bates.edu).
  • Alzheimer’s Association Legacy Scribes–help listen to and then write down the memories of those diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease or related dementias. Contact Marty Deschaines (mdeschai@bates.edu).
  • Social Learning Center Friendship Program–form a one-on-one friendship with a person with a disability. Contact Emily Halford (ehalford@bates.edu).
The Arts
  • ArtVan— mobile arts therapy working with non-profits in Lewiston-Auburn; contact Katie Leeke (kleeke@bates.edu).
  • Art programming at Hillview Family Development—weekly art projects with youth aged 6-16; contact Katie Leeke (kleede@bates.edu).
  • Dance programming at the YWCA–dance classes for children and youth; contact Shae Gwydir (egwydir@bates.edu).
Hospitals
Other Programs (some of these require extensive training)