background

Community Volunteer Opportunities

Mentoring

Big Brothers Big Sisters: Offers one-on-one weekly one-hour matches with elementary school kids in local schools.  It also has a campus-based program, Cats and Cubs, that meets every Sunday; contact Camden Bock (cbock@bates.edu).

 

Tutoring and Enrichment Programs

Hillview After-School: Mondays and Wednesdays, 3-5pm; contact Lydia Rosenfield (lrosenfi@bates.edu).

Tree Street Youth: Mondays through Thursdays, 2-6pm; Friday 2-4pm; contact Alex Ulin (aulin@bates.edu).

Lewiston Public Library: Mondays through Thursdays, 3:30-5:30pm; contact Kara McGowan (kmcgowan@bates.edu).

Project Storyboost: Reading to early elementary-aged children during the school day; contact Brenna Callahan (bcallaha@bates.edu).

English Language Learners

Adult Learning Center: Contact Anne Kemper (akemper@lewistonpublicschools.org).

Somali Bantu Youth Association of Maine: Preparation for citizenship testing; contact Rilwan Osman (rilwan@sbyam.org).

Food Accessibility

Trinity Soup Kitchen: Serves meals seven days a week; contact Erin Reed (trinitylewiston@gmail.com).

Lots to Gardens: Community gardening and cooking classes; contact Sofia Gnabasik (sgnabasi@bates.edu).

Good Shepherd Food Bank: Preparing food for distribution throughout the state; contact Amanda Marino (207-782-3554, x1169).

Elderly/Younger Disabled

Blake Street Towers: Promotes social activities with elderly and younger disabled; contact Matt Gee (mgee@bates.edu).

Art Projects

ArtVan: Mobile arts therapy working with non-profits in Lewiston-Auburn; contact Katie Stevenson (ksteven3@bates.edu).

Hospitals

St. Mary’s Regional Medical Center: Contact Jenny Cowie (207-777-8369; jcowie@stmarysmaine.com).

Central Maine Medical Center: Contact Sue Hedrich (207-795-2472; hedricsu@cmhc.org).

Other Programs (some of these require extensive training)

Safe Voices: Domestic violence prevention program; contact the Volunteer Coordinator (207-795-6744).

Advocates for Children: Child abuse protection and parenting skill development; contact the Volunteer Coordinator (info@advocatesforchildren.net).

Greater Androscoggin Humane Society: Contact Sandy Graul (207-783-2311; volunteer@gahumane.org).

Sexual Assault Prevention and Response Services: Contact Bridget Mancini (sacccs@sapars.org).

BookReach: Volunteer reading program sponsored by the Lewiston and Auburn Public Libraries where volunteers are matched with a local in-home daycare and go once a week to do story time;  One hour/week, one semester commitment; contact Kara Reiman (bookreach@lewistonmaine.gov).

Center for Wisdom’s Women: A sacred and safe place that supports and empowers women; contact Klara Tammany (cww@oxfordnetworks.net).

Androscoggin Land Trust: Opportunities for trail stewardship and data research; contact Kathy Young (207-782-2302; kyoung@androscogginlandtrust.org).


  • Contact Us