Community Volunteer Opportunities

For those interested in volunteering in the off-campus community, our local and statewide communities offer a range of partners and projects, including one-time or short-term opportunities and ongoing or sustained opportunities. In addition to the opportunities listed below, Harward Center staff members are happy to meet with individuals and groups interested in exploring other possibilities.

One-Time or Occasional Volunteer Opportunities

St. Mary’s hospital, which is right next to Bates on Campus Avenue, will hold an emergency drill on Saturday, December 3rd. They need 20 students to act as “victims/patients” from 8am -12pm. Volunteers would show up at the Emergency Department waiting room at 8am, sign a release, and be put to work in an emergency simulation for healthcare providers. Volunteers should contact Mike Hatch to express an interest in participating. He can be reached on his cell at 207-890-3157 and by email at mhatch@stmarysmaine.com.

The Auburn Public Library Teen Program is seeking volunteers to support their Great Stories Club, a program that gives underserved youth facing significant challenges the opportunity to read, reflect, and share ideas on topics that resonate with them. The library needs volunteers to help students workshop personal narratives on December 6, from 4:15-5:45. They are also seeking volunteers who can commit to supporting the Auburn Great Stories club during the Winter Semester. If you are interested, please reach out to Sam Boss, aboss@bates.edu, for more details.

New Beginnings, an organization that works with homeless youth and is located only a block from campus, would love to have some Bates volunteer energy in their weekly pick-up basketball games. They play on Monday evenings from 6:30-8:30 pm. If this sounds like your kind of volunteer gig, contact Sarah, sarah@newbeginmaine.org.

New Beginnings would also like to offer a yoga class but needs an enthusiastic volunteer instructor or two. For more information or to express interest, contact Marc, marc@newbeginmaine.org.

Blake Street Towers and Meadowview (Lewiston Housing Authority residences for low-income elderly and younger disabled) are happy to have volunteers plan social events–meals, game nights, performances, etc. Contact Simone Wilson, swilson@bates.edu.

The Good Shepherd Food Bank prepares food for distribution throughout the state. Contact: Gabby O’Leary, goleary@bates.edu.

Ongoing or Sustained Volunteer Opportunities

Mentoring

Big Brothers Big Sisters offers one-on-one weekly one-hour matches with elementary school kids in local schools. Contact: Marty Deschaines (mdeschai@bates.edu).

Tutoring and Enrichment Programs

Hillview After-School—Mondays and Wednesdays, 3:15-4:45; contact Maddy Shmalo (mshmalo@bates.edu).

Tree Street Youth—Mondays through Thursdays, 2-6; Friday 2-4; contact Ibrahim Achekh (volunteers.tsy@gmail.com).

Boys and Girls Club–after-school programming; contact Maura Moody at mmoody@bgcmaine.org .

Lewiston Public Library— Mondays through Thursdays, 3:15-5:15; contact Talia Martino (tmartino@bates.edu).

Montello Book Buddies— reading to early-elementary-age children during the school day; contact George Steckel (gsteckel@bates.edu).

Maine Community Integration—after-school homework help; contact Ahmed Sheikh (asheikh@bates.edu).

The Root Cellar–This is a faith-based organization that serves people in the downtown neighborhoods. Opportunities to help with adult English language classes, food pantry work, and afterschool children’s programming. Contact Joel Furrow at 207-782-3659.

English Language Learners

Adult Learning Center—tutor English language learners; contact Amy Poland (apoland@lewistonpublicschools.org)

Maine Immigrant and Refugee Services—preparation for citizenship testing; after-school homework help; contact Ahmed Sheikh (asheikh@bates.edu).

Food Accessibility

Trinity Soup Kitchen—serves meals 7 days a week; contact Erin Reed (trinitylewiston@gmail.com).

Lots to Gardens—community gardening and cooking classes; contact Gabby O’Leary (goleary@bates.edu).

Good Shepherd Food Bank—preparing food for distribution throughout the state; contact Beth Tatro, 782-3554, x1169.

Elderly/Younger Disabled

Blake Street Towers—promote social activities with elderly and younger disabled; contact Simone Wilson (swilson3@bates.edu).

Alzheimer’s Association—help listen to and then write down the memories of those diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease or related dementias. Contact Marty Deschaines (mdeschai@bates.edu).

Social Learning Center Friendship Program—form a one-on-one friendship with a person with a disability. Contact Haoyu Sun (hsun@bates.edu).

The Arts

ArtVan— mobile arts therapy working with non-profits in Lewiston-Auburn.  Contact Sarah Douglas (sdouglas@bates.edu).

Art programming at Hillview Family Development—weekly art projects with youth aged 6-16. Contact Sarah Douglas (sdouglas@bates.edu).

Dance programming at the YWCA—dance classes for children and youth; contact Mallory Cohen (mcohen2@bates.edu).

Hospitals

St. Mary’s Regional Medical Center— contact Jenny Cowie; 777-8369; jcowie@stmarysmaine.com .

Central Maine Medical Center—contact Sue Hedrich: 795-2472; hedricsu@cmhc.org

Other Programs (some of these require extensive training)

Safe Voices—domestic violence prevention program; contact Staci Beal at 795-6744.

Greater Androscoggin Humane Society—contact Sandy Graul, 783-2311, volunteer@gahumane.org

Sexual Assault Prevention and Response Services—contact sacccs@sapars.org

Center for Wisdom’s Women—a sacred and safe place that supports and empowers women; Klara Tammany, cww@oxfordnetworks.net.

College Guild–engage with incarcerated individuals through a well-organized program; Cristopher Hernandez Sifontes, chernan2@bates.edu .