Community Volunteer Opportunities

One-Time or Occasional Volunteer Opportunities

OneTime

  • Aspirations programming—on-campus aspirations events for local children and youth. Contact Brie Wilson (bwilson@bates.edu).
  • Seniors Plus is looking for Kitchen Helpers/Packers to assist with preparation of meals or packing of delivered meals at the Lewiston production kitchen, one or more days per week, Monday through Thursday mornings from 8:30 to 11 am. Contact Volunteer Services at SeniorsPlus by phone at 207-795-4010 or by email at volunteerservices@seniorsplus.org for
    more information.
  • New Beginnings is an organization that works with homeless youth ages 14-21 and is located only a block from campus. They welcome volunteers to help with meals, to organize and maintain a clothing closet, and to help with cleaning the building.  For more information, contact Ethan at ethan@newbeginmaine.org .
  • Blake Street Towers and Meadowview (Lewiston Housing Authority residences for low-income elderly and younger disabled) are happy to have volunteers plan social events–meals, game nights, performances, etc.; contact Brooke Jandreau (bjandrea@bates.edu).
  • The Good Shepherd Food Bank prepares food for distribution throughout the state; contact Hermione Zhou (xzhou@bates.edu).

Ongoing or Sustained Volunteer Opportunities

BlakeStreetTowers

Mentoring Programs
  • Lewiston High School College Mentoring—meet weekly with LHS students who participate in the 21st Century program, helping them to think about college. Contact Joshua Redd (jredd@bates.edu).
  • Big Brothers Big Sisters— one-on-one weekly one-hour matches with elementary school kids at Longley Elementary School.  Contact Jennifer Cartmell (jennifer@bbbsmidmaine.org).
  • Lewiston Middle School lunch program—have lunch with LMS students once a week. Contact Matt Golden (mgolden2@bates.edu).
  • Montello Mentoring Program—one-on-one weekly one-hour matches with elementary school kids. Contact Kerry Manuel (kmanuel@bates.edu).
Tutoring and Enrichment Programs
  • Hillview After-School—Mondays and Wednesdays, 3:15-4:45. Contact Julia Horwitz (jhorwit2@bates.edu).
  • Tree Street Youth—Mondays through Thursdays, 2-6; Friday 2-4; contact Abby Westberry (awestber@bates.edu).
  • Lewiston Public Library— Mondays through Thursdays, 3:15-5:15. Contact Ilze Smidt  (ismidt@bates.edu).
  • Book Buddies— reading to early-elementary-age children during the school day. Contact George Steckel (gsteckel@bates.edu).
  • 21st Century Afterschool programming—help with afterschool programming in local elementary schools. Contact Emma Westwater (ewestwat@bates.edu).
  • Boys and Girls Club—after-school programming. Contact Maura Moody (mmoody@bgcmaine.org),
  • The Root Cellar–This is a faith-based organization that serves people in the downtown neighborhoods. Opportunities to help with adult English language classes, food pantry work, and afterschool children’s programming. Contact Joel Furrow at 207-782-3659.
English Language Learners
Food Accessibility
  • Trinity Soup Kitchen—serves meals 7 days a week; contact Erin Reed (trinitylewiston@gmail.com). There is a particular need for help between 8:30 and 9:30 and from noon to 1.
  • Lots to Gardens—community gardening and cooking classes. Contact Hermione Zhou (xzhou@bates.edu).
  • Good Shepherd Food Bank—preparing food for distribution throughout the state; contact Beth Tatro, 782-3554, x1169.
Elderly/Younger Disabled
  • Blake Street Towers—promote social activities with elderly and younger disabled; Sunday brunch volunteers. Contact Brooke Jandreau (bjandrea@bates.edu).
  • Social Learning Center Friendship Program—form a one-on-one friendship with a person with a disability. Contact Maddy Shmalo (mshmalo@bates.edu).
  • Alzheimer’s Association Legacy Scribes—help write down memories for people who are living with Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias. Contact Marty Deschaines (mdeschai@bates.edu).
The Arts
  • ArtVan— mobile arts therapy working with non-profits in Lewiston-Auburn.  Contact Casey Kelley (ckelley2@bates.edu).
  • Art programming at Hillview Family Development—weekly art projects with youth aged 6-16. Contact Casey Kelley (ckelley2@bates.edu).
Hospitals
  • St. Mary’s Regional Medical Center— contact Jenny Cowie; 207-777-8369; jcowie@stmarysmaine.com.
  • Central Maine Medical Center—207-795-2472.
Other Programs (some of these require extensive training)