Community Volunteer Opportunities

One-Time or Occasional Volunteer Opportunities

OneTime

  • Aspirations programming—on-campus aspirations events for local children and youth. Contact Ronan Goulden (rgoulden@bates.edu).
  • Blake Street Towers and Meadowview (Lewiston Housing Authority residences for low-income elderly and younger disabled) are happy to have volunteers plan social events–meals, game nights, performances, etc.;  Contact Annika Mirchandani, (amirchan@bates.edu)
  • The Good Shepherd Food Bank prepares food for distribution throughout the state; contact Maddie Lee (mlee5@bates.edu).
Ongoing or Sustained Volunteer Opportunities

BlakeStreetTowers

Mentoring Programs
  • Big Brothers Big Sisters – one-on-one weekly one-hour matches with elementary school kids at Longley Elementary School.  Contact Jennifer Cartmell (jennifer@bbbsmidmaine.org).
  • Lewiston Middle School lunch program – have lunch with LMS students once a week. Contact Lauren Nudi (lnudi@bates.edu).
Tutoring and Enrichment Programs
  • Tree Street Youth – Mondays through Thursdays, 2-6pm; Friday 2-4pm; contact Keenan Shields (keenan@treestreetyouth.org).
  • Book Buddies – reading to early-elementary-age children during the school day. Contact Contact Anna Sarrazin (asarrazi@bates.edu).
  • Aspirations programming – on-campus aspirations events for local children and youth. Contact Ronan Goulden (rgoulden@bates.edu).
  • Boys and Girls Club – after-school programming. Contact Luke Van Denend  (lvandenend@bgcmaine.org).
Food Accessibility
  • Trinity Soup Kitchen – serves meals 7 days a week; contact Janelle Poland (volunteertjc@gmail.com).
  • Lots to Gardens – community gardening and cooking classes; contact Maddie Lee (mlee5@bates.edu).
  • Good Shepherd Food Bank – preparing food for distribution throughout the state; contact Maddie Lee (mlee5@bates.edu).
Elderly/Younger Disabled
  • Blake Street Towers – serve Sunday brunch to elderly and younger disabled residents; contact Annika Mirchandani, (amirchan@bates.edu).
The Arts
  • ArtVan – mobile arts therapy working with non-profits in Lewiston-Auburn. Contact Mary Elizabeth Tune (mtune@bates.edu).
Immigrant Integration Programming
  • Trinity Jubilee Center – help immigrants and refugees with employment, housing, education, and other challenges. Contact Janelle Poland (volunteertjc@gmail.com).
  • AK Health and Social Services- After school programs, community needs assessment and other programs. Contact Abdikhadar Shire (abdikhadar.shire@akhss.org)
Other Programs (some of these require extensive training)
  • Central Maine Medical Center—Contact Volunteering@cmhc.org
  • St. Mary’s Regional Medical Center – Contact Elizabeth Keene; 207-777-8369; ekeene@covh.org.
  • Androscoggin Home Healthcare and Hospice – hospice visiting, event assistance, office help. Contact Ron Hood, (Ron.Hood@androscoggin.org)
  • Safe Voices – domestic violence prevention program. Contact Alyssa Coyne, acoyne@safevoices.org;  795-6744.
  • An Angel’s Wing—assist with issues around substance use disorder; contact Debra York, 207-513-6051, info@anangelswing.org.
  • Greater Androscoggin Humane Society – Contact Sandy Graul, 207-783-2311, (volunteer@gahumane.org).
  • Center for Wisdom’s Women – a sacred and safe place that supports and empowers women; Sonia Turgeon , (soniat@wisdomswomen.org).

Don’t see what you’re looking for?  Contact Hamza Abdi (habdi@bates.edu)  to talk about other options!