Community Volunteer Opportunities

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, Bates students are advised not to volunteer in the off-campus community until further notice.  Thanks for your cooperation.

One-Time or Occasional Volunteer Opportunities

OneTime

  • The Longley Re-entry Program (formerly The Dingley School) provides temporary placement for Lewiston Public School students in grades 6 through 12 who aren’t able to be in regular classrooms. The program runs Tuesday through Friday and offers morning sessions (8:00am – 11:00am) and afternoon sessions (11:30am – 2:30pm). They work with students on emotional, behavioral and academic goals for future classroom re-entry. The Program would love to have volunteer tutors, and they are particularly looking for a math tutor in the morning session to help a couple of female students with algebra. To find out more or to volunteer, please contact Eric Tremblay at etremblay@lewistonpublicschools.org.
  • Aspirations programming—on-campus aspirations events for local children and youth. Contact Ella Ross (eross2@bates.edu).
  • Blake Street Towers and Meadowview (Lewiston Housing Authority residences for low-income elderly and younger disabled) are happy to have volunteers plan social events–meals, game nights, performances, etc.; contact Ella Ross (eross2@bates.edu).
  • The Good Shepherd Food Bank prepares food for distribution throughout the state; contact Hermione Zhou (xzhou@bates.edu).

Ongoing or Sustained Volunteer Opportunities

BlakeStreetTowers

Mentoring Programs
  • Big Brothers Big Sisters – one-on-one weekly one-hour matches with elementary school kids at Longley Elementary School.  Contact Jennifer Cartmell (jennifer@bbbsmidmaine.org).
  • Lewiston Middle School lunch program – have lunch with LMS students once a week. Contact Grace Bake (gbake@bates.edu).
  • Montello Elementary School – one-on-one match with an elementary school student for 30 minutes a week; homework help, playing games, and being another form of student support. Contact Casey Snow (csnow@bates.edu).
Tutoring and Enrichment Programs
  • Hillview After-School – Mondays and Wednesdays, 3:15-4:45pm. Contact Emily Pardi (epardi@bates.edu).
  • Tree Street Youth – Mondays through Thursdays, 2-6pm; Friday 2-4pm; contact Keenan Shields (volunteers@treestreetyouth.org).
  • Lewiston Public Library – Mondays through Thursdays, 3:15-5:15pm. Contact Ilze Smidt (ismidt@bates.edu).
  • Book Buddies – reading to early-elementary-age children during the school day. Contact Alix Zabin (azabin@bates.edu).
  • Aspirations programming – on-campus aspirations events for local children and youth. Contact Ella Ross (vista@bates.edu).
  • Boys and Girls Club – after-school programming. Contact Sarah Clark (sclark@bgcmaine.org).
Food Accessibility
  • Trinity Soup Kitchen – serves meals 7 days a week; contact Erin Reed (trinitylewiston@gmail.com).
  • Lots to Gardens – community gardening and cooking classes; contact Hermione Zhou (xzhou@bates.edu).
  • Good Shepherd Food Bank – preparing food for distribution throughout the state; contact Beth Tatro, 207-782-3554, x1169.
Elderly/Younger Disabled
  • Blake Street Towers – serve Sunday brunch to elderly and younger disabled residents; contact Annika Mirchandani (amirchan@bates.edu).
  • Social Learning Center Friendship Program – form a one-on-one friendship with a person with a disability. Contact Charlotte Lynskey (clynskey@bates.edu).
  • Alzheimer‘s Association, Maine Chapter –  Offers a variety of opportunities to reach and support local communities throughout Maine. Contact Alison Russell (alirussell@alz.org) to learn more about ways to get involved.
  • SeniorsPlus–our local Area Agency on Aging has many volunteer opportunities including meal help, administrative assistance, and class facilitation. Contact volunteerservices@seniorsplus.org.
The Arts
  • ArtVan – mobile arts therapy working with non-profits in Lewiston-Auburn.  Contact Casey Kelley (ckelley2@bates.edu).
  • Art programming at Hillview Family Development – weekly art projects with youth aged 6-16. Contact Casey Kelley (ckelley2@bates.edu).
Immigrant Integration Programming
  • Trinity Jubilee Center – help immigrants and refugees with employment, housing, education, and other challenges. Contact Analea Angot (aangot@bates.edu).
Other Programs (some of these require extensive training)
  • Central Maine Medical Center—Contact Ron Hood; ron.hood@cmhc.org.
  • St. Mary’s Regional Medical Center – Contact Jenny Cowie; 207-777-8369; (jcowie@stmarysmaine.com) .
  • Junior Achievement— teaching financial literacy skills, entrepreneurship, and fostering work-readiness through K-12 programming. Commitment of 5 one-hour sessions, or one full day. Contact Jenny Graves, jgraves2@bates.edu.
  • Androscoggin Home Healthcare and Hospice – hospice visiting, event assistance, office help. Contact Kathy Baillargeon (Kathy.Baillargeon@androscoggin.org).
  • Safe Voices – domestic violence prevention program. Contact Victoria Stanton, (vstanton@safevoices.org); 207-795-6744.
  • An Angel’s Wing—assist with issues around substance use disorder; contact Debra York, 207-513-6051, info@anangelswing.org.
  • Greater Androscoggin Humane Society – Contact Sandy Graul, 207-783-2311, (volunteer@gahumane.org).
  • Center for Wisdom’s Women – a sacred and safe place that supports and empowers women; Klara Tammany, (klarat@wisdomswomen.org).
  • College Guild – engage with incarcerated individuals through a well-organized program; contact Madeline Polkinghorn (mpolking@bates.edu) or Ernestine Whitaker (ewhitake@bates.edu).

Don’t see what you’re looking for?  Contact Marty (mdeschai@bates.edu) to talk about other options!