Division, Program, & Department Chairs

Academic Year 2021-2022

Division Chairs

Humanities (H)Susan Stark – sstark@bates.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies (I)Holly Ewing – hewing@bates.edu
Natural Sciences and Mathematics (N)Nathan Lundblad – nlundblad@bates.edu
Social Sciences (S)Amy Douglass – adouglas@bates.edu

Program Chairs

Africana (I)Therí Pickensaas-chair@bates.edu
American Studies (I)Myron Beasley (fall)
Mary Rice DeFosse (winter)
mbeasley@bates.edu
mricedef@bates.edu
Asian Studies (I)Nathan Fariesnfaries@bates.edu
Classical & Medieval Studies (I)Laurie O’Higginsdohiggin@bates.edu
Digital and Computational Studies (I)Barry Lawsonblawson@bates.edu
Environmental Studies (I)Joe Halljhall2@bates.edu
European Studies (I)Jim Richterjrichter@bates.edu
Gender and Sexuality Studies (I)Melinda Plastasmplastas@bates.edu
Latin American and Latinx Studies (I)Karen Melvinkmelvin@bates.edu
Neuroscience (I/N)Jason Castrojcastro@bates.edu

Department Chairs

Anthropology (S)Áslaug Ásgeirsdóttiraasgeirs@bates.edu
Art and Visual Culture (H)Ned Harwoodeharwood@bates.edu
Biology (N)Larissa Williamslwillia2@bates.edu
Chemistry and Biochemistry (N)Matthew Côtémcote@bates.edu
Earth and Climate Sciences (N)Bev Johnsonbjohnso3@bates.edu
Economics (S)Daniel Riera-Crichton
Paul Shea
drieracr@bates.edu
pshea@bates.edu
Education (S)Patty Buck
Anita Charles
Bronwyn Sale
Mara Tieken
pbuck@bates.edu
acharles@bates.edu
bsale@bates.edu
mtieken@bates.edu
English (H)Sylvia Federicosfederic@bates.edu
French and Francophone Studies (H)Kirk Read kread@bates.edu
German & Russian Studies (H)Raluca Cernahoschircernaho@bates.edu
Hispanic Studies (H)David Georgedgeorge@bates.edu
History (S)Caroline Shawcshaw@bates.edu
Mathematics (N)Chip Rosssross@bates.edu
Music (H)Dale Chapmandchapman@bates.edu
Philosophy (H)David Cummiskeydcummisk@bates.edu
Physics & Astronomy (N)Travis Gouldtgould@bates.edu
Politics (S)Senem Aslan
Steve Engel (Assoc. Chair)
saslan@bates.edu
Psychology (S)Helen Boucherhboucher@bates.edu
Religious Studies (H)Cynthia Bakercbaker@bates.edu
Rhetoric, Film, and Screen Studies (H)Jon Cavallero
jcavalle@bates.edu
Sociology (S)Francesco Duinafduina@bates.edu
Theater & Dance (H)Kati Vecseykvecsey@bates.edu