Division, Program, & Department Chairs

Academic Year 2019-2020

Division Chairs

Humanities (H) Lillian Nayder – lnayder@bates.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies (I) Holly Ewing – hewing@bates.edu
Natural Sciences and Mathematics (N) Nathan Lundblad – nlundblad@bates.edu
Social Sciences (S) Amy Douglass – adouglas@bates.edu

Program Chairs

Africana (I) Charles Nero cnero@bates.edu
aas-chair@bates.edu
American Studies (I) Myron Beasley mbeasley@bates.edu
Asian Studies (I) Brian Ruppert bruppert@bates.edu
Classical & Medieval Studies (I) Lisa Maurizio lmaurizio@bates.edu
Digital and Computational Studies (I) Meredith Greer mgreer@bates.edu
Environmental Studies (I) Sonja Pieck spieck@bates.edu
European Studies (I) Raluca Cernahoschi rcernaho@bates.edu
Gender and Sexuality Studies (I/N) Melinda Plastas mplastas@bates.edu
Latin American Studies (I) Clarisa Pérez-Armendáriz cperezar@bates.edu
Neuroscience (I/N) Nancy Koven nkoven@bates.edu

Department Chairs

Anthropology (S) Danny Danforth ldanfort@bates.edu
Art and Visual Culture (H) Ned Harwood eharwood@bates.edu
Biology (N) Don Dearborn ddearbor@bates.edu
Chemistry and Biochemistry (N) Matthew Côté mcote@bates.edu
Economics (S) Paul Shea
Lynne Lewis (Assoc. Chair)
pshea@bates.edu
llewis@bates.edu
Education (S) Patty Buck
Anita Charles
Bronwyn Sale (F ’19)
Mara Tieken
pbuck@bates.edu
acharles@bates.edu
bsale@bates.edu
mtieken@bates.edu
English (H) Eden Osucha eosucha@bates.edu
French and Francophone Studies (H) Kirk Read kread@bates.edu
Geology (N) Bev Johnson bjohnso3@bates.edu
German & Russian Studies (H) Jakub Kazecki jkazecki@bates.edu
History (S) Joe Hall jhall2@bates.edu
Mathematics (N) Adriana Salerno asalerno@bates.edu
Music (H) Dale Chapman dchapman@bates.edu
Philosophy (H) David Cummiskey dcummisk@bates.edu
Physics & Astronomy (N) Travis Gould tgould@bates.edu
Politics (S) Senem Aslan
Steve Engel (Assoc. Chair)
saslan@bates.edu
sengel@bates.edu
Psychology (S) Helen Boucher (F ’19)
Amy Douglass  (W/ST ’20)
hboucher@bates.edu
adouglas@bates.edu
Religious Studies (H) Cynthia Baker cbaker@bates.edu
Rhetoric, Film, and Screen Studies (H) Stephanie Kelley-Romano
skelley@bates.edu
Sociology (S) Emily Kane ekane@bates.edu
Spanish (H) David George dgeorge@bates.edu
Theater & Dance (H) Carol Dilley
Michael Reidy (Assoc. Chair)
Julie Fox (Assoc. Chair)
cdilley@bates.edu
mreidy@bates.edu
jfox3@bates.edu