Student Affairs Staff

Based in Lane Hall with offices throughout campus, the Student Affairs staff is here to help.

Don’t hesitate to contact us about academic questions and counseling (in addition to your faculty adviser), personal concerns, and any matters relating to the policies or operation of Bates.


Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students


Joshua G. McIntosh

Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
jmcintos@bates.edu
207-786-6219
Donna Sevigny
Donna Sevigny
Assistant to the Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
dsevigny@bates.edu
207-786-6219

Student Support and Community Standards

Carl Steidel
Carl Steidel
Associate Dean of Students for Student Support and Community Standards
csteidel@bates.edu
207-786-6220
150415_DoS_Reshoot_0008
Ree Russell
Coordinator of Student Support and Community Standards
rrussell@bates.edu
207-786-6220
Jessica Perez
Jessica Perez
Assistant Dean of Students for Student Transition and Support
jperez2@bates.edu
207-786-8303

Campus Life

Kim
Kim Trauceniek
Associate Dean of Students for Campus Life
ktraucen@bates.edu
2
07-786-6304
Qiu Fogarty
Qiu Fogarty
Assistant Director of Campus Life
qfogarty@bates.edu
207-755-5963
150728_DoS_Headshots_0003
Carrie Murphey ’06
Assistant Dean of Students for First-Year Programs
cmurphey@bates.edu
207-755-5979

Residence Life and Health Education

150415_DoS_Reshoot_0036
Erin Foster Zsiga

Associate Dean of Students for Residence Life and Health Education & Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drug Counselor
efoster@bates.edu
207-786-6215
150728_DoS_Headshots_0023
Molly Newton ’11
Associate Director of Residence Life
mnewton@bates.edu
207-755-5935
150415_DoS_Reshoot_0021
Blake Reilly
Assistant Director of Residence Life
breilly3@bates.edu
207-755-5936
Kristy Gagne
Kristy Gagne
Coordinator of Residence Life and Housing kgagne3@bates.edu
207-786-6215
Bethel Kifle
Bethel Kifle ’14
Civic Leadership Post-Baccalaureate Fellow, AmeriCorp VISTA
bkifle@bates.edu
(207) 786-6229

Off-Campus Study

150402_DoS_Portraits_0057
Stephen Sawyer

Associate Dean of Students for Off-Campus Study
ssawyer@bates.edu
207-786-6223
150402_DoS_Portraits_0038
David Das

Assistant Director of Off-Campus Study Programs
ddas@bates.edu
207-786-6223

150415_DoS_Reshoot_0066
Shelley Palmer
Administrative Assistant, Off-Campus Study
spalmer@bates.edu
207-786-6223

International Student Programs

150402_DoS_Portraits_0190
James Reese

Associate Dean of Students for International Student Programs
jreese@bates.edu
207-786-6222

Health Services

Christy Tisdale
Christy Tisdale
Director of Health Services
ctisdale@bates.edu
207-786-6199
Cindy Visbaras
Cindy Visbaras
Assistant Director of Health Services
cvisbara@bates.edu
207-786-6199


Accessible Education and Student Support

150728_DoS_Headshots_0033_1
Abigail Nelson
Assistant Dean of Accessible Education and Student Support
anelson2@bates.edu
207-786-6222
Anne Marie Byrne
Anne Marie Byrne
Administrative Assistant abyrne@bates.edu
207-786-6222

Campus Security

Tom Carey
Thomas P. Carey ’73
Director of Security
tcarey@bates.edu
207-786-6254
150402_DoS_Portraits_0061
Ron Lessard
Assistant Director of Security
rlessard@bates.edu
207-786-6254


Information Technology

150611_DoS_Vince_0005
Vincent Bellina
IT Program Manager
vbellina@bates.edu
207-786-6481