Pomeroy Fund Scholarship

The Harriet M. and Fred E. Pomeroy Fund Scholarship For Alumni Enrolled in Health-Related Professional or Graduate Programs.

The Biology Department, in conjunction with the Bates Medical Studies Committee, invites applications for scholarships to be awarded from The Harriet M. and Fred E. Pomeroy Fund. Each Pomeroy scholar will receive a grant of $5,000 to help support graduate/professional training in Biology or Health Sciences. Funding to offset student-paid tuition will be sent directly to the institution in which the scholar is enrolled. Scholars are nominated from the applications received by the Bates Medical Studies Committee and are selected by a vote of the faculty of Biology. The number of scholarships awarded each year varies.

To be eligible for a Pomeroy scholarship, alumni must have completed at least five courses in Biology while at Bates and successfully completed at least one semester of their graduate or professional study before applying. Those who receive a stipend and tuition support are NOT eligible to apply. Only those who are paying their own tuition and fees are eligible for this award. The successful applicant will have demonstrated significant academic achievement in addition to extracurricular professional development.

To apply, alumni must submit:

  1. Official Bates and graduate/professional school transcripts
  2. Resume or CV
  3. A short statement of current and future education and career goals. The statement should include extracurricular activities or achievements that have enhanced the applicant’s education.
  4. One letter of recommendation from a graduate/professional school faculty member should be submitted on the applicant’s behalf. The letter of recommendation, according to the Pomeroy guidelines, should address the applicant’s character, academic ability, and potential for future success.
  5. First year graduate/professional students must also have an advisor/faculty assessment submitted on their behalf describing the student’s second semester grades and/or class performance. The author would preferably be familiar with the student’s performance in all of their second semester classes; however, if the author is only familiar with their performance in a single class, that will suffice. The letter of recommendation and assessment may be combined into a single document if both are written by the same author.

The Pomeroy Scholarship application deadline is April 15, 2024.

Please submit all questions and application materials to:

James H. Smith ’14
Email: jsmith6@bates.edu

2024 recipients:

Gianna DiPinto ’20 – University of Massachusetts Medical School DNP Program
Hadley Moreau ’19 – Tufts University School of Medicine (Maine Track)
Jillian Serrano ’21 – Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso School of Medicine

2023 recipients:

Brianna (Wilson) Peters ’18 – Southern New Hampshire University MPH Program
Emily Rose Disler ’18 – Tufts University School of Medicine
Sally Ceesay ’18 – Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine

2022 recipients:

Abigail Bierman ’17 – Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine
Alexander Eaton ’17 – Drexel University College of Medicine
Emily Gibson ’19 – Tufts University School of Medicine MPH Program
Sarah Logan ’14 – Yale School of Nursing

2021 recipients:

Alexandra Ulin ’17 – Yale School of Nursing Midwifery Program
Caroline Andy ’18 – Columbia University Biostatistics Program
Gwen Muscato ’18 – Mass Gen Institute of Health Genetic Counseling Program
Lauren Drumgold ’19 – The Brown School at Wash. U in St. Louis MPH Program
2020 recipients:
Logan Greenblatt ’14 – St. George’s University School of Medicine
Caitlin O’Toole ’16 – Bryant University Physician Assistant Program
Curtis Rheingold ’14 – Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University
Nicole Taikeff ’18 – Simmons University Master of Public Health Program
2019 recipients:

Cheyenne Cannarozzo ’16 – Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine
Emily Halford ’18 – Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health
Jessica Rae Plotnikov ’16 – Stony Brook University School of Medicine
Nicholas Pray ’15 – University of Connecticut School of Dental Medicine

2018 recipients:

Sherika Blevins, ’05 BSN, RN – Boston University, Program Management Clinical Research
Kate Carlucci ’13 – Columbia University School of Nursing
Luke Harmeling ’12 – University of Massachusetts Lowell, Physical Therapy
Nabil Saleem ’15 – Tufts University School of Medicine, MD

2017 recipients:

Dylan Atchley ’08 – Keck School of Medicine at USC
Elliott Morgan ’11 – Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine
Lauren Okano ’11 – Bloomberg School of Public Health at Johns Hopkins, PhD in Public Health
Alix Vandeventer ’12, BSN – Massachusetts General Hospital’s Nurse Practitioner Program

2016 recipients:

Canice Ahearn ’13 – Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health – MPH
Joanna Mangar ’11 –  University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine – DMD
Alida Ovrutsky ’08 – University of Colorado School of Medicine – MD
Alexandra Steverson ’11 – Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine – MD/MPH

2015 recipients:

Kristina Tobin ’12 – Nurse Practitioner Program at Massachusetts General Hospital
Whitney Thomas ’08 – University of Vermont School of Medicine

2014 recipients:

Rachel Vaivoda ’11 – Masters of Science in Nursing at Yale
Gwen Caffrey ’11 – Cooper Rowan Medical School
Susannah Stone (now Susannah Brown) ’09 – University of South Carolina School of Medicine

2013 recipients:

Meredith Anderson 07’ – Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine
Miranda Gallo 09’ – Tufts Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine
Jennifer Foster 09’ – New York University School of Medicine
Erin Sienkiewicz 09’ – Penn State College of Medicine
Nathaniel Johnson 10’ – Tufts University School of Medicine

2012 recipients:

Kristen Meyers ’09 – Tufts University School of Medicine
Keith Egan ’07 – UNE College of Osteopathic Medicine
Wit Davis ’01 – UNE College of Osteopathic Medicine
Taisy Conk ’07 – Tulane University School of Public Health
Baijing Qin ’10 – Boston University School of Medicine

2011 recipients:

Leah H. Carr ’10 –  University of Vermont
Jared J. Cassin ’08 – Stony Brook
Jason Godsell ’08 – New York University
Zachary W. Risler ’08 – Drexel University
Julia A. Shelkey ‘07 – Penn State
Nicholas J. Swerdlow ‘09 – Albert Einstein