Room Selection Dates

Room Selection Timeline for 2022-2023 

The following is the timeline for selecting housing for the 2022-2023 Academic Year. All rising sophomores, juniors, and seniors that will be taking classes on campus should fill in a HouseCat application and participate in one or more of the following processes.

If you are studying abroad or will not be at Bates in the fall, you should not fill out an application and read about the Winter Placement Process.

Entering first-year and transfer students will be emailed information on their housing placement applications in the summer.

Off-Campus Lottery  

 

Friday, February 11, 2022 Off-Campus Lottery Applications open
Friday, February 25, 2022 Off-Campus Lottery applications are due at 4:00 p.m.
Monday, February 28, 2022 Off-Campus Lottery results sent out via email; waitlist begins for students not granted permission if necessary
Wednesday, March 2, 2022 Students granted permission must return agreement and potential address information
Friday, May 6, 2022 Final off-campus addresses are due

 

Theme House Proposals

Friday, February 4, 2022 Proposal information available at the Office of Residence Life and Health Education and online
Friday, February 18, 2022 Proposals are due at 4:00 p.m.
Wednesday, February 23, 2022 Proposal acceptances sent via email to coordinators
Friday, March 4, 2022 Resident assignments and contracts due from coordinators at 9:00 a.m. Coordinators must make sure every individual on roster has filled out HouseCat application

Groups of 8 Process

Mid-February 2022 All On-Campus Housing Applications open via HouseCat
Friday, March 4, 2022 Applications close at 11:59 p.m.
Monday, March 7, 2022 Groups of 8 selection start times released by 7:00 p.m.
Tuesday, March 8, 2022 8 Person Blocks Room Selection
Selection Times Begin: 5:00 p.m.
Room Selection Closes: 7:00 p.m.

Groups of 6 Process

Mid-February 2022 All On-Campus Housing Applications open via HouseCat
Wednesday, March 9, 2022 Applications close at midnight
Thursday, March 10, 2022 Groups of 6 selection start times released by 7:00 p.m
Friday, March 11, 2022 6 Person Suites Room Selection
Selection Times Begin: 5:00 p.m.
Room Selection Closes: 7:00 p.m.

 

Groups of 3 or 4 Process

Mid-February 2022 All On-Campus Housing Applications open via HouseCat
Monday, March 14, 2022 Applications close at 4:00 p.m
Wednesday, March 16, 2022 Groups of 3 or 4 selection start times released by 7:00 p.m
Friday, March 18, 2022 4 Person Suites, 4 Person Blocks, 3 Person Suites, and Triples Room Selection
Selection Times Begin: 5:00 p.m. for all and run-concurrently
Room Selection Closes: 10:00 p.m.

Rising Junior and Senior Doubles Process

Mid-February 2022 All On-Campus Housing Applications open via HouseCat
Monday, March 21, 2022 Applications close at midnight for rising juniors and seniors
Tuesday, March 22, 2022 Selection times released by 7:00 p.m.
Monday, March 28, 2022 Rising Seniors Doubles Room Selection
Selection Times Begin: 5:00 p.m.
Room Selection Closes: 7:00 p.m.
Tuesday, March 29, 2022 Rising Juniors Doubles Room Selection
Selection Times Begin: 5:00 p.m.
Room Selection Closes: 7:00 p.m.

Rising Junior and Senior Singles Process

Mid-February 2022 All On-Campus Housing Applications open via HouseCat
Tuesday, March 29, 2022 Applications close at midnight for rising juniors and seniors
Wednesday, March 30, 2022 Selection times released by 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, March 31, 2022 Rising Seniors Singles Room Selection
Selection Times Begin: 5:00 p.m.
Room Selection Closes: 8:00 p.m.
Friday, April 1, 2022 Rising Juniors Singles Room Selection
Selection Times Begin: 5:00 p.m.
Room Selection Closes: 8:00 p.m.

Rising Sophomore Singles Process

Mid-February 2022 All On-Campus Housing Applications open via HouseCat
Sunday,  April 3, 2022 Applications close at midnight for rising sophomores
Monday, April 4, 2022 Selection times released by 7:00 p.m.
Tuesday, April 5, 2022 Rising Sophomore Singles Room Selection
Selection Times Begin: 5:00 p.m.
Room Selection Closes: 7:00 p.m.

Rising Sophomore Doubles Process

Mid-February 2022 All On-Campus Housing Applications open via HouseCat
Tuesday, April 5, 2022 Applications close at midnight for rising sophomores
Wednesday, April 6, 2022 Selection times released by 7:00 p.m.
Friday, April 8, 2022 Rising Sophomores Doubles Room Selection
Selection Times Begin: 5:00 p.m.
Room Selection Closes: 8:00 p.m.

Summer Placement 

End of Winter Semester Summer Placement Application opens for those without a housing assignment
July 31, 2021 Summer Placement Applications close
Week of August 12, 2021 Summer Placement Assignments released