College Key Distinguished Service Award

In recognition of the dedication and excellence offered to the college by truly distinguished members of the faculty and staff, the College Key has presented the Distinguished Service Award annually during Reunion Weekend since 1993.

Past Recipients

John R. Cole, Thomas Hedley Reynolds Professor Emeritus of History (2012)
James L. Reese, Associate Dean of Students (2011)
Wylie L. Mitchell, Dean of Admissions (2010)
Marcy Plavin, Bates College Modern Dance Company and Bates Dance Festival founder (2009)
Carl B. Straub, Professor Emeritus of Religion and Clark A. Griffith Professor Emeritus of Environmental Studies (2008)
Judith Ann Marden ’66, Director of Bates Morse Mountain Conservation Area & Advisor to the Bates Outing Club (2007)
William Bergevin, Campus Landscape Coordinator (2006)
Leigh Campbell ’64, Financial Aid Director (2005)
F. Celeste Branham, Dean of Students (2004)
William C. Hiss ’66, Vice President for Alumni & External Affairs (2003)
Eugene G. Taylor ’56, Planned Giving Officer (2002)
Gene Clough, Lecturer in Geology (2001)
Elaine T. Freeman, Associate Director of Maintenance (2000)
Bernard R. Carpenter, Vice President for Financial Affairs and Treasurer (1999)
John A. Tagliabue, Professor Emeritus of English (1998)
Richard W. Sampson, Professor Emeritus of Mathematics & Advisor to the Bates Outing Club (1997)
Walter Slovenski, Coach of Men’s Track & Field (1995)
James W. Carignan ’62, Dean Emeritus of the College & Associate Professor of History (1994)
Margaret Taylor Nichols, Registrar Emerita (1993)