Holidays for Staff Members

Bates College grants all benefits eligible staff members a total of 12 holidays per calendar year. The College usually observes the following days as holidays:

  • New Year’s Day
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Thanksgiving
  • Recognition Day (day after Thanksgiving)
  • Christmas Eve
  • Christmas

In addition to the usually observed holidays, the College will grant four (4) additional paid holidays to regular staff members during the year. The floating holidays are determined by the President and are announced in advance each year.

Additional information regarding holidays and related policies is located in the Employee Handbook. Please refer to our calendars for questions regarding specific years.