2020 Alumni Award Recipients

Bates is proud to recognize the achievements and volunteer contributions of our alumni through a program of awards and honors. Please learn more about the Bobcats who have made this college — and the world — better through their time, efforts, and talents.

Alumni Community Service Award

The Alumni Community Service Award is given annually to an alum who has demonstrated distinguished leadership and commitment to serving the community in which they live or work. The award is designed to recognize the values of service and civic responsibility that are fundamental to the Bates education.

The 2020 award goes to William “Bud” Schultz ’81

Bates’ Best Award

Bates’ Bests are awarded annually to dedicated alumni and parent volunteers who express a passion and commitment for advancing the mission of the college.

The 2020 awards goes to :

Bruce Stangle Award for Distinguished Service

The Bruce Stangle Award for Distinguished Service to the Bates Community was established in honor of Bruce for his decades of remarkable service. It is an occasional award that will be given in recognition of Bates leaders whose body of work has touched countless Bates people and helped them become better professionals in their careers or in their volunteer work.

The 2020 award goes to Dr. Ben Lowenstein ’92 P’23 

Distinguished Young Alumni Award

Established in 1987, the Distinguished Young Alumni Award is presented to a young graduate (usually not more than 15 years out) for exceptional volunteer service to Bates and distinction in their career.

The 2020 awards goes to :

Helen A. Papaioanou ’49 Distinguished Alumni Service Award

Inaugurated in 1981, the  Helen A. Papaioanou ’49 Distinguished Alumni Service Award is awarded to a graduate or graduates (usually greater than 25 years) for truly distinguished service — both in quantity and quality. Historically known as the Distinguished Alumni Service Award, the 1999 award was renamed the Helen A. Papaioanou Distinguished Alumni Service Award, to honor Helen Papaioanou, M.D., class of 1949, for her decades of service to Bates and to the board of trustees from 1965 to 1999.

The 2020 award goes to Irwin Flashman ‘65

Sesquicentennial Prize

The Sesquicentennial Prize was established in 2005 in honor of the college’s 150th anniversary. It is awarded to an alumna/us for a single academic, artistic, or scientific achievement. It is conferred at the discretion of the Alumni Council.

The 2020 award goes to Amy Bass ’92

If you know of a Bobcat that has made notable contributions to Bates, their community and/or the wider world, please nominate them.