Bates Alumni Council Announces 2024 Alumni Awards Recipients

The Bates Alumni Council is thrilled to unveil the esteemed recipients of the 2024 Alumni Awards, a testament to their exceptional contributions and achievements within the Bates community and beyond.

The Alumni Community Service Award is presented to Michael Schlechter ’99, P’28 for his exemplary dedication to community service and philanthropy. Schlechter’s commitment to making a difference in the lives of others serves as an inspiration to the Bates community and beyond.

The Alumni Professional Recognition Award recipients for 2024 are Robin Hodgskin ’76 and David Wilcox ’74, P’03, P’09. Hodgskin’s distinguished career in financial services and a remarkable commitment to community service exemplify the Bates spirit of professional excellence and social responsibility. Wilcox’s extensive contributions to emergency medicine in clinical practice and advocacy have earned him widespread recognition and respect in the field.

The Bruce Stangle ’70, P’96, GP’26 Award for Distinguished Service is bestowed upon Ira Waldman ’73, P’08, P’11 in honor of his exceptional dedication and service to Bates College. Waldman’s tireless efforts as a Bates volunteer and his commitment to advancing the mission of the college have left a lasting impact on the Bates community.

The Distinguished Young Alumni Award recognizes Alexandria Onuoha ’20 for her outstanding achievements and contributions early in her career. Onuoha’s commitment to social justice and advocacy, particularly in the field of psychology, reflects the values of Bates College and serves as a source of inspiration to her peers.

Finally, the Helen A. Papaioanou ’49 Distinguished Alumni Service Award is presented to Jennifer Bouchard ’99 in recognition of her exemplary service and dedication to Bates College over the past 25 years. Bouchard’s extensive volunteer work, leadership roles, and lifelong commitment to Bates exemplify the highest ideals of the Bates community.

“We are incredibly proud to honor these outstanding alumni for their remarkable achievements and contributions to Bates College and beyond,” said Kevin Moore ’93, President of the Bates Alumni Council. “Their commitment to service, excellence, and social responsibility embodies the spirit of Bates, and we are grateful for their continued dedication to the Bates community.”

The recipients will be honored at the Annual Meeting of the Alumni Association during Reunion on June 8, 2024, at 11:30 a.m. at Bates College.

For more information about Bates College and the Alumni Awards, please visit